Savidge Reads is 9 Years Old Today…

Well who would of thought it? Savidge Reads is nine years old today, where has the time gone? It seems eons and eons ago, yet strangely only like yesterday, that I opened up a browser on Blogspot (for that is where it all started) and began keeping a diary of all the books I was reading and some of the random things I was doing. And then look what happened!!

I have actually been feeling quote nostalgic about it all over the last few weeks, especially with things like the Orion news and mainly last week when I was down in London and spent a few days with lots and lots of lovely people (Rob, Kate, Jen, Jean, Will, Catherine, Katie etc) all who I might not have met without the existence of this blog which is one of the greatest joys is has brought me, be they people in real life or online as I have made great friendships both ways, along with some wonderful opportunities and also some bloody marvellous books and reading experiences (some in other countries) ever since. Here is one of my highlights but there are many more, many, many more. I think that all calls for cake doesn’t it…

img_6674

It is all this wonderful nostalgia, great books, delightful people etc that have made me feel rather and guilty and rather bad of late because I have not been the best book blogger, in fact I have been wondering if I could still call myself that with the lack of posting. So I have had a break, done some thinking… And now I am ready to come back and get cracking with recommending you great reads all over again. More on that soon, because I might go wild an post a book review tomorrow (crazy I know). In the meantime though I just want to say thank you. Thanks for visiting here, be it little or often. Thank you for commenting, or just for lurking. Thank you to everyone who has had great bookish chats with me over the years, and thanks to many of you for some ruddy wonderful reads. Here’s to the next 9 years, more wonderful books, chats, friendships and memories. I need to get planning on what to do for the big 1-0 next year. In the meantime though, I think I best get back to that cake! Thank you all again. (Simon goes and weeps in a corner from all the emotion.)

37 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

37 responses to “Savidge Reads is 9 Years Old Today…

  1. Happy bloggy birthday! Your blog made me want to start mine and I’m so very glad that I did, so… big thanks, congrats, and cheers to another 9!!

  2. dirtmother

    Happy, erm, Blorthday! And thank you for being here.

  3. Yaaaay! Happy bloggiversary🙂

  4. Tina

    I find you nicely quirky .Congratulations Simon for coming up with so much info for 9 years.

  5. Wow, 9 years! Congratulations! It’s such an accomplishment — I look forward to celebrating your 10th anniversary next year — I think you should have a ten-layered cake!

  6. Congrats on nine years Simon

  7. Here’s to the next 9 years indeed! Congratulations!

  8. Rhonda

    Happy 9&many more🎂

  9. When my blog grows up it would like to be just like yours❤

  10. J Morgan

    ‘Who would HAVE thought It’ – surely!

  11. Congratulations and keep up the good recommendations.

  12. Happy Blogging Anniversary!

  13. holly

    It’s you who deserve the thanks! Love your blog, love your recommendations, and love your Booktube videos! Your posts are always a cheerful, friendly, and smart little oasis in the often toxic stew that the Internet can be. Don’t ever go away.

  14. Your success in the bookish community is because you are knowledgable and passionate about books, but also because you are warm, kind and have a spot on wicked sense of humor! Congratulations on your first 9 years – I hope you’ll be here for 99 more!

  15. Ann

    Cute Cake! Congrats – enjoy your writings.

  16. Karen B

    Congratulations on 9 years! I love the cake! I’ve only been following you for around 2.5 years, but it’s been great. You may not always do full book review blogs, but you’re constantly making recommendations and I have an endless list of books I want to read. My biggest issue is that I live in the States and can’t always get what you recommend! Oh, and I absolutely LOVE your BookTube videos. It’s great to hear about books, your adventures, your thoughts, etc. I especially love episodes like the ones that you did with your sister. Very sweet! Keep them coming!

    So congratulations again and I’m looking forward to many more years!

  17. Many congratulations on your ninth birthday!

  18. Congratulations! Here’s to the next 9 years!!
    Hope I am still around to read them.

  19. Congratulations Simon! Love your blog!

  20. Carol R

    Congratulations Simon! I’m afraid I’m one of your lurkers … Have been for about 8 years. Absolutely love your blog and look forward to seeing what you have to say about books and what you’re up to.

  21. A Kiwi in Oxford

    Yeah, you are back. You have informed my reading so much over the last four years so thank you. Keep doing it and thanks for finding time in what always seems like an increasingly busy life!!

  22. Congratulations !! Happy Birthday🙂

  23. Kristen M.

    Happy 9th! I have been reading your blog for most of that time and you have definitely broadened both my reading and world views. I read books I never would have picked up because of you. Thank you! I’m glad to hear you will be sticking around a while longer too. I think all of us long term bloggers are always on the cusp of the decision to pack it all in but we can never bring ourselves to do it, can we?😉

  24. Rob

    Congratulations! Hope you go for nine more!

  25. Karen

    Congratulations Simon! Hoping for many more years to come….

  26. Happy Blog Birthday to you and me! (We share blog-birthdays, but you’re a year ahead of me!)

  27. Sandra

    Congratulations!

  28. Just wish I’d discovered you 9 years ago. Now dry those tears!

  29. mf4strings

    Congratulations Mr. Savidge! I guess I’m a relative newbie as I have only been reading you for about two years now. I’m more of “classics” reader but I do love British writers and appreciate the contemporary authors you have introduced me too. Hell, I’m strictly a fiction only reader but you did get me to read “H is for Hawk” last year which I ended up really enjoying. Cheers to another nine years of great blogging and podcasting!

  30. Nine years – crikey! Congratulations!

  31. Congrats, Simon! Love that you have a cake.

  32. Congratulations on your 9th year. I just celebrated my 8th. Crazy!

Leave a Reply

