I Have Moved…

I have moved. I have wifi. I am back. At the risk of sounding like an ‘I am back, honest, I really am’ record that has become stuck on repeat… I really am back. I have moved into a lovely new house (with the space for a library, hooray) and whilst it has been one of the most stressful experiences I have endured but the reward of being in this house – which I think will be my forever home – is more than I could have imagined. I genuinely beam when I come home to this…


Admittedly it is still utter chaos (and I have yet to have many family or friends round really, let alone the rooms ready for a readers and writers retreat, but fret not that will come) and is mainly rooms filled with boxes. I should add there were 67 boxes of books and the movers were heard to mutter ‘hasn’t he heard of a bloody Kindle’ which made me laugh. Slowly but surely though we are all getting used to the space, even Mildred who is a slight agoraphobic and to whom this feels utterly giant.


Ha! So now I can officially between unboxing, walls being knocked down, kitchens being ripped out and the like, I am back. How are all of you? What have you been up to and what have you been reading?


Filed under Random Savidgeness

18 responses to “I Have Moved…

  1. Glad to hear that you have moved safely. I hope the unpacking and wall destruction is going well

  2. Congratulations on surviving the craziness which is house moving – and hope you will settle in really well. Ah, yes, movers hate us and our books, don’t they? I was also looked at with disdain and despair, and it wasn’t even a full house of books that I was moving, just a few years’ worth.

  3. Amelia

    I know everything about stressful experiences with moving. But the house looks gorgeous. And all I had to know about the inside was completed with the word ‘library’. And above all the Man Booker Prize on the way. How about inviting a very nice although yet unknown woman?
    I’m currently reading Jaan Kross ‘The Czar’s Madman’.

  4. Deborah Mika

    I have just moved too. Boxes? There are too many. Many of mine are books too and I have only ended up with one bookcase!!!

  5. How fab! They say moving is one of the most stressful things you can do… which is probably why I’ve lived in the same flat for 16 years! 😂

  6. Ooo exciting times! Library? Writing retreat rooms? Where do I sign up… 😆 Wishing you every happiness in your new home Simon xxx

  7. Ann

    Oh Simon – love your house – so gorgeous! Love your cat’s name – Mildred was my mother’s name!

  8. Karen B

    Congratulations! The house is lovely! I look forward to watching your video when I have a moment. Wishing you the best of luck and I hope your life there is magical. I hope Mildred settles in quickly!

    Oh, and you asked what we’re reading. I just finished The Widow (audiobook) and was pleasantly surprised. I didn’t like Gone Girl and Girl on the Train was okay, so I didn’t expect to enjoy this as much as I did since everyone is making comparisons. Did you recommend it? I thought it was you, but I could be wrong!

  9. Carol R

    Beautiful new house Simon. Hope it brings you much happiness.

  10. Tom Perkins d

    Congratulations on the new house, it looks smashing, I did a move the beginning of the year but my books are still in storage 😩. Wishing you and “the beard” many happy years in you new home.

  11. Yay! We’ve missed you. But glad you’re in and a little less hectic – sounds like it’s been worth it 😊

  12. Lovely photo of Mildred. Looking forward to seeing more once you get yourselves sorted.

  13. Louise

    Congratulations on the house – can you do a tour/plan drawing?
    Is all of it yours up to the 2nd chimney?
    We did many trips to our house prior to moving in – painting etc. so each time I brought a box of books – that helped a little🙂

  14. I can’t wait to see pictures of the library! Have you thought about how you’re going to do it? Built-in construction or series of matching bookcases?

  15. How is the book funk?

  16. Congratulations on the new house! Mildred looks happy!

  17. Kate (Sydney)

    Congratulations on your new place – will be fantastic once everything is unpacked – wonderful. I’ve recently finished To The Bright Edge of the World which was so, so good and yesterday finished The Lesser Bohemians…….. I think I felt about that book the way some people felt about A Little Life (which I personally loved). I’m still trying to process how I feel about Bohemians – I went through a gamut of emotions reading this book and honestly wondered if I really wanted to keep going at times. But I did. Harrowing.

  18. Kristen M.

    I definitely can’t wait to see a full tour when you have things situated the way you want them. The outside is lovely and makes me once again sad that we have nothing very old here on the west coast of the US.

Leave a Reply

