The Man Booker Shortlist 2016 (And A Liverpool Event)

One of the exciting things that I have been meaning to tell you about for ages, after it being a secret for quite a while, is that I am working on and hosting a very exciting event this week… as the Man Booker Shortlist is coming to Liverpool on Thursday night . When I say the shortlist I actually mean four of the shortlisted authors; Paul Beatty, Deborah Levy, Graeme Macrae Burnet and Ottessa Moshfegh, who will be popping to the stunning Liverpool library to meet some reading groups and then doing an event (hosted by me, not nervous at all) in the evening in the stunning Concert Room at St George’s Hall (if you fancy coming details are here).

Having read the shortlist I am really excited to talk about the authors books this year, which in case you have missed it (as if you have, though I have just realised I never posted anything about the shortlist which only shows what a dreadful book blogger I have been for the past few months, do forgive me) are…


  • The Sellout – Paul Beatty (Oneworld)
  • Hot Milk – Deborah Levy (Hamish Hamilton)
  • His Bloody Project – Graeme Macrae Burnet (Contraband)
  • Eileen – Ottessa Moshfegh (Jonathan Cape)
  • All That Man Is – David Szalay (Jonathan Cape)
  • Do Not Say We Have Nothing – Madeleine Thien (Granta Books)

Now I am holding fire on talking about all the books in full until after the event, though I will then dish all and predict a winner, but you can see me chatting about the shortlisted books, the first chapters of five and the whole of one, in the video below which I hope will give you a taster of what to expect if you are still debating which to read as the list is quite an eclectic one, which I like.

In the interim before I report back I just thought I would give you that quick update. If you are near Liverpool on Thursday do pop by (I know it is short-list notice, see what I did there, but I have been bonkers busy organising the event and now suddenly it is here). I would also love to hear your thought on any of the shortlisted books that you have read. It seems a while since we had a good old bookish natter about some specific books.


Filed under Man Booker, Random Savidgeness

3 responses to “The Man Booker Shortlist 2016 (And A Liverpool Event)

  1. Have only read His Bloody Project which I thought was brilliant!

  2. Andrew Cole

    So far I’ve read four.
    Madeleine Thien is a wonderful read, one of those books that will be a classic , excellent storytelling around a traumatic period in history.
    His bloody project was a brilliant page turner which I loved.
    I picked Hot Milk up with scepticism, anticipating a typically clever Booker style book that I expected not to like but I really enjoyed it .
    Finally Eileen was bonkers and I’m still not sure exactly what went on but again very readable and enjoyable.
    I’ve got David Szalay sat ready to read from the library ( how brilliant is our library system that you can request a book and it is purchased new).
    So far the best short list I can remember and I’m looking forward to watching your vlog and the result.

  3. Eleanor Davies

    It was great evening- thank you so much for bringing them to Liverpool! Have been to south bank to see them last 2 years.
    They were all great but my prediction is still Madeline Thien closely followed by Paul Beatty.

Leave a Reply

