And The Winner of The Man Booker Prize 2016 Is…

Paul Beatty with The Sellout

51gc1hccv8l

I was lucky enough to host an event with four of the Man Booker shortlisted authors, including Paul, combining my day job and my love of books perfectly, in Liverpool’s St George’s Hall as you can see below, where Paul is reading to a rapt audience. (You will be able to see a video of the event on my Booktube channel soon, as well as a podcast on a special return of You Wrote The Book!)

15-man-booker-sgh

Having read the entire shortlist I don’t envy the judges having to make the decision because (despite me possibly being a bit underwhelmed at first – before I read them, so who on earth did I think I was) I thought the shortlist had a huge amount to offer and were actually all very different. The psychological profiling and claustrophobic clinging atmosphere  in Eileen, the huge conversations about family and Europe in Hot Milk, the use of satire smoking some serious rage in The Sellout which will have you checking your own prejudices, the sense of adventure, storytelling and gripping nature of His Bloody Project, the short stories meets novel in All That Man Is which looks at what it is to be a man throughout an entire life and the epic nature of Do Not Say We Have Nothing which looks at dark histories and culture clashes in the present. So yeah, quite a choice.

So huge congrats to Paul, and to all the shortlisted authors. Have you all read The Sellout  and if so what did you make of it? My review will be live, very, very soon – and that video and podcast too.

5 Comments

Filed under Man Booker

5 responses to “And The Winner of The Man Booker Prize 2016 Is…

  1. Not read it yet but a signed (wow) copy is on its way to me – he signed it today!

  2. Don’t know whether to be peeved or pleased that it’s one of the shortlisted books I haven’t read yet! Pleased I guess, as I still have it to look forward to (although I don’t think it’s that kind of book??)

    On a different issue, did anyone else think the live media coverage of the event was woefully inadequate? The ManBooker social media fizzled out, a ‘live feed’ with Joe Haddow never seemed to materialise and the BBC only covered the very final minutes of the announcement. Perhaps there are production/ copyright issues? What a shame…

  3. elizabethmaddenlitblog

    Black guy writing about the “hood” wins Booker- yawn! Predictable as hell- My Bloody Project was the only one on the list worth a second glance. Very disappointed.

    • Have you read it? I can understand the presumption of imagining yourself yawning. But if it’s your own prejudice speaking from supposition I recommend you read it first. This book is addressing exactly this issue.

  4. It’s actually the only one of the shortlist I’ve had a chance to read. I found it an intriguing and subversive premise, punchy as hell, and I loved the way Beatty brazenly plays with the comfort level of his readers. He’s so witty that you can’t help but laugh out loud at times, but then you immediately question why you did so. I’m not sure I thought it a “Booker” prize winner, but then again, why not? It’s confronting a lot of issues in a really unique and desperately entertaining way.

Leave a Reply

