The Books Are My Bag Readers Awards, Shortlists & A Books Are My Bag of Fiction Giveaway

I have been meaning to mention this sooner but as everything is still a little bonkers post move, and me having a week being a bit of a poorly sausage, I am still catching up with everything. However, one of the things that has delighted me of late was being asked to be one of the bloggers/vloggers for Books Are My Bag and their Readers Awards 2016. A few weeks ago I was sent a box brimming with book treats in the form of the shortlist, which you can see in the video below…

In case you need a list of books (and seriously who doesn’t like a list of books, then you can see all the titles which you can vote for here http://www.nationalbooktokens.com/vote below. There are some stonkingly good books and there is some tough competition.

Fiction Award

  • The Green Road by Anne Enright
  • Grief is the Thing with Feathers by Max Porter
  • The Loney by Andrew Hurley
  • The Muse by Jessie Burton
  • This Must Be the Place by Maggie O’Farrell
  • The Trouble with Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon

Non-fiction Award

  • Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig
  • SPQR by Mary Beard
  • Landmarks by Robert Macfarlane
  • The Silk Roads by Peter Frankopan
  • When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanthi
  • It’s All in Your Head by Suzanne O’Sullivan

Biography & Autobiography Award

  • Fingers in the Sparkle Jar by Chris Packham
  • The Last Act of Love by Cathy Rentzenbrink
  • The Road to Little Dribbling by Bill Bryson
  • At the Existentialist Café by Sarah Bakewell
  • The Invention of Nature by Andrea Wulf
  • Alive Alive Oh! by Diana Athill

Childrens Award

  • One by Sarah Crossan
  • The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
  • Beetle Boy by MG Leonard
  • The Day the Crayons Came Home by Drew Daywalt
  • The Bear and the Piano by David Litchfield
  • The Detective Dog by Julia Donaldson

Breakthrough Author Award

  • Abi Elphinstone (The Shadow Keeper)
  • Amy Liptrot (The Outrun)
  • Andrew Michael Hurley (The Loney)
  • Han Kang (The Vegetarian)
  • Joanna Cannon (The Trouble with Goats and Sheep)
  • Kit de Waal (My Name is Leon)
  • Lisa McInerney (The Glorious Heresies)
  • Rowan Hisayo Buchanan (Harmless Like You)

I was given the Biography and Autobiography to talk about on my channel. Initially I was a bit puzzled because those aren’t the sort of books that I would rush to read. However after having a dabble with trying a chapter of the five I had not read I am now eager to read them all. And over the next few months I will be. You can see a video of me trying them all out below.

Now one category that I am most familiar with is fiction. I bloody love contemporary fiction. So familiar am I that I have already got all of the fiction shortlist. So I thought in my second and final giveaway this week, to mark my full return to blogging (you can see the first here) I thought I would giveaway the entire fiction shortlist, in a books are my bag bag, to one lucky winner. Oh and this is open internationally. Here are the books looking all resplendent.

img_1843

So what do you have to do to win? Well two things. Firstly you have to tell me what your favourite fiction AND non ficton books of the year have been and why. You also need to tell me the name of my cat which makes a guest appearance in my Try A Chapter video above. You have until the 14th of November when voting closes, don’t forget you can vote here http://www.nationalbooktokens.com/vote  That is it, good luck.

85 Comments

Filed under Give Away

85 responses to “The Books Are My Bag Readers Awards, Shortlists & A Books Are My Bag of Fiction Giveaway

  1. loraliej

    Hi Simon! I hope that you are feeling better!
    Sooooo my favorite no -fiction book this year has been A is for Arsenic: The Poisons of Agatha Christie by Kathryn Harkup. It has a beautiful cover & each chapter talks about a poison Agatha Christie used in her books, and as a huge Christie fan this was awesome. I think that my favorite fiction book so far is The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson, it was my first time reading & it was slo-mo creepy which I loved. Oh & Mildred is the cat in the video 😀

    • Hi Simon. Learned about your blog on twitter. Love it. Mildred is the name of your cat. My fav non-fic is The Gene by Siddhartha Mukherjee. Read The Emperor of Maladies and decided to continue following this writer. Riveting. Fell in love with A Light Between Oceans. This novel stirred up so many emotions that at the end of reading I wanted to see the movie and tah-dah… a film release.

  2. I like Chris Packham so I will be interested to see if you enjoy his biography, Fingers in the Sparkle Jar – it certainly has an intriguing title 🙂

  3. Amelia

    That is really a great comeback…what a give-away! My favourite books so far are _Dept. Of Speculation by Jenny Offill_ in fiction, because it tells so much in so few words and I’ve never read a book written in that style before. And _The Ego Tunnel by Thomas Metzinger_ in non-fiction, because it’s so interesting and gives you so many new perceptions about how your brain is working (or not). And the name of the little madam is Milly (Mildred).

  4. What’s happened to the Green Carnation Prize 2016, please?

  5. sharkell

    What a great competition – there are some great books there! My favourite fiction so far this year is a tie between Elemental by Amanda Curtin and Our Souls At Night by Kent Haruf (it’s very mean of you to ask for just one ☺). My favourite non-fiction is a tie between Everywhere I Look by Helen Garner and Reckoning: A Memoir by Magda Szubanski. Hello to Milly from my cats – Sam and Toby.

  6. Sergio

    Hola from Spain 🙂

    My favourite fiction book this year: «The Taste of a Man», by Slavenka Drakulic. My non-fiction book… hmmm… «La resistencia mínima» [The Minimal Resistance], by Josep Maria Esquirol, which has won the National Essay Award in Spain 🙂

    And Mildred/Milly is the name of your cat!

    Thank you so much!

  7. Cathy Rentzenbrink’s book sounds wonderful; I’ve added it to my TBR list. Thanks for the suggestion!

    This has been a dry year for reading for me. The only 5 star book I’ve read was a children’s picture book. But Cathy Pelletier’s The Funeral Makers, part of her loose ‘series’ set in rural northern Maine, garnered 4.5
    I’m in the same boat with non-fiction, but I really did enjoy Beginning French by Les Americains, a memoir of living part-time in rural southern France. The bonus is the recipes.

    Your cat is Millie – and a sweet chirper she is. 🙂

    This is a most generous giveaway with wonderful books as the prize. Thanks so much for the chance to win!!

  8. What a lovely giveaway!
    My favourite fiction book was The Museum of You by Carys Bray, and non-fiction was I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai. Your cat is called Mildred!
    Thanks, love your videos 🙂 Beth

  9. I would recommend reading Notes from a Small Island before Little Dribbling. They are both really funny.

    My favourite fiction read has been Last Night in Montreal by Emily St. John Mandel because it is a haunting and beautifully written novel is one that is deeply layered with secret after secret. My favourite non fiction is much harder to choose, but I think that it has to be The View from the Cheap Seats by Neil Gaiman, a brilliant book from a master wordsmith.

    It was Milly who photobombed your video.

  10. Mildred is your cat. I think I’ve only read two non-fiction books this year which is terrible, I know. My favourite was The Golden Age of Murder by Martin Edwards. I’m a big fan of Agatha Christie and John Dickson Carr so this book was very interesting and enjoyable.

    My favourite fiction book was Shelter byJung Yun. It’s the only book this year that I still think about and would definitely read it again.

  11. Hello Simon! I’ve read a number of books that I really enjoyed so far this year. You can’t really be asking me what I favour! Most of what I enjoyed were books I read for uni and when dissecting them I come to love them even more, like Season of Migration to the North, Things Fall Apart, Nervous Conditions, To Kill a Mockingbird. I’ve been chewing up some Agatha Christie as well from the Miss Marple series and I’ve just been LOVING them. As for non-fiction, I really really liked a book I read at uni called On Identity. I read a couple of non-fic graphic novels I enjoyed; Persepolis and Palestine.
    Who cannot name your darling kitty Millie – or Mildred – who casually makes am appearance every now and then? Such a sweetie! I’m definitely a cat lady and I really wouldn’t mind living with 10 of em!

    Yasmine xx

  12. Easy question tackled first – your cat goes by the name of Mildred
    Favourite fiction read – oh boy. It’s a toss up between three of the Booker candidates – The North Water by Ian McGuire; Wyl Menmuir’s The Many or Madeline Thien’s Do Not Say we Have Nothing. On balance it has to be Thien for the sheer breadth of her novel about the Communist regime in China and the repercussions for musicians
    Non fiction: it has to be Complete Guide to World Fiction by M A Arthofer, a treasure trove for anyone who wants to break out of the canon of Western literature

  13. It’s a great giveaway! My favorite non fiction that I read this year was Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal by Jeanette Winterson, it broke my heart and then put it back together. Fiction is more tricky, there was a lot of good books I read this year, so for me it’s a tie between The Goldfinch by Donna Tart and Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro. Cat’s name is Mildred 🙂

  14. Hi, Simon! I’ve been watching and enjoying your YouTube channel for a while now but only recently discovered your blog. I’ve since subscribed and am looking forward to keeping up on your posts. Thank you for hosting this lovely giveaway and for opening it internationally!

    My favorite non-fiction read during the last year was Jeanette Walls’ memoir The Glass Castle. I don’t typically read a lot of non-fiction, but would like to try and make an effort to get to more in the year to come. I think Walls’ book was my first memoir, but I really did like it. As for fiction, that’s a tough decision. I have read a lot of great fiction books in the last year, but perhaps my favorite has been Ruby by Cynthia Bond (The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock and Winter’s Bone by Daniel Woodrell are close followers).

    Miss Milly was the kitty who made an appearance in your video up above. Beautiful cat! 🙂

  15. Mildred is your cat.Fiction – Conclave by Robert Harris has some excellent jokes in it. Non-fiction Olivia Laing The Lonely City. I’ve loved everything she’s written.

  16. My favourite Fiction book of the year is ‘The Trouble with Goats and Sheep’ by Joanna Cannon. I enjoyed it so much I have encouraged many friends and family members to read it and they have all enjoyed it too. My favourite Non fiction book of the year is ‘Reasons to Stay Alive’ by Matt Haig. I like Matt Haig’s writing and as I have had a tough year with my mental well being this year I found this book helped reassure me. Everyone should read this book at some point in their life.
    The name of your cat is Milly ( think she should feature in more of your vlogs).

  17. Milly’s your cat!

    Favorite fiction book so far is The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood, which hits just about all of my novel sweet spots – feminism, mystery, the outdoors, sexual politics, Australia. I thought it was fantastic.

    I don’t read much nonfiction, and looking back through Goodreads the only nonfiction I’ve read in 2016 is Pandemic by Sonia Shah, so I guess that wins by default. I do have Maggie Nelson’s The Argonauts on my shelf, so that may take over first place once I get around to it.

  18. Komal

    Okay so out of all the fiction I’ve read this year, I’ve shortlisted two as my absolute favourites:
    1. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr because it’s so atmospheric and vivid and just amazing. It’s a war story that’s very character driven and the two protagonists are very different but endearing people that I still haven’t been able to get over (I read the book in January!)
    2. Of Human Bondage by W. Somerset Maugham. I read this for the 2016 Classics Challenge in the summer and I dunno, there are some books that come into your life at the right time, you know? This one was it for me. The prose is beautiful, the story just resonated with me and there were moments were I felt tears rush to my eyes and just.. arghh, wish I could explain it well. Bloody loved this book!

    I didn’t get to read much non-fiction this year (only 4 non-fiction books, my goodreads tells me) but out of those I liked Shit My Dad Says by Justin Halpern. It’s funny and reminded me of the things my father says! Dad jokes are universal, I guess.
    Your cat is called Mildred and she’s lovely. (Also, sorry for the excessive waffling, I got carried away)

  19. Reader Of A certain Age

    My favourite read of the year is a toss up between Kate Atkinson’s A God in Ruins and Fifteen Dogs by Andre Alexis. A very tough decision. However, Fifteen Dogs prevails as my favourite of 2016. This novel is about two gods, Hermes and Apollo, who place a bet between themselves on whether or not a group of dogs whom they grant human consciousness and language will adapt to their new lives of a different awareness. As the dogs live out their lives in a large city we are drawn into their lives and the choices they make. This is a marvellous book because it is a meditation on human nature, humanity and the perils of human consciousness. A very smart book.
    My non-fiction read is Michael Winter’s Into the Blizzard: Walking the Fields of the Newfoundland Dead. This work is an exploration of Newfoundlanders experience before, during and after the war. Even though this book is my n-f pick I DNF’d it. Why? The author is a much better speaker than a writer. I saw him give a mesmorizing talk about the book which made me wonder why the book didn’t capture what he spoke about so eloquently. So, this book is important to me because it made me explore the stories of WW1 soldiers front line experiences in other books. To me a good book opens the door to explore new ideas and issues and that is what Michael Winter did for me.
    As for your video companion, Mildred is a doll.

  20. OH boy. So hard to choose my favorite fiction read! Contenders are Museum of You, Natural Way of Things, Essex Serpent, Jane Steele … But if I have to choose just one, it’s The Butcher’s Hook by Janet Ellis. Nonfiction? Easy, I adored reading H is for Hawk this year. Oh, and I’m quite sure Millie agrees with my picks! 😉

  21. I’ve had great fun reading through all these comments to get some book recommendations! And, your cat’s name is Millie.

    I’m the reverse of many people here in that I’ve read far more nonfiction than fiction this year, and the fiction I have read has not been great. Still, I did enjoy Anthony Marra’s The Tsar of Love and Techno.

    As for nonfiction, I’ve read so many great books this year but my absolute favorite was Lab Girl by Hope Jahren, a beautiful memoir about Dr. Jahren’s passionate dedication to science, which also turns into a really lovely comment on friendship between men and women. Women scientists talking about their research? Sign me up!

  22. Louise

    Hi Simon

    Uh those books look good! 🙂
    Cat is Millie/Mildred 🙂

    Best non-fiction this year was “Hiroshima” by John Hersey – about 6 survivors of the Hiroshima bomb, scary that it took so many years before the radiation victims got help/support, and a very sobering lesson in why wars and A-bombs should be avoided.

    Best fiction so far is the graphic novel Logicomix by Apostolos Doxiadis , about philosopher and math genius Bertrand Russell, the danger of political and/or (perceived) universal truths, and the huge importance of always letting common sense guide you instead of dogmas.

  23. Sarah

    For non-fiction I think it has to be “The Good Immigrant”. I’m a translator, so I think my fiction pick so far this year has to be “The Vegetarian” – also “I’ll Sell You a Dog” by Juan Pablo Villalobos (And Other Stories), which got me out of a reading slump.

    Hope Mildred won’t mind me mentioning dogs 🙂

  24. Simon:
    First, so glad I stumbled upon this blog. I have been happily following your life through the pages you read and enjoy it greatly.
    So far, my reading in 2016 has been quite good, with large portion of the books I have knocked off my “Why in God’s name haven’t you read me yet?” list – including the startling Bird Box by Josh Malerman, the sorrowful Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng and the enlightening and thrilling Little Bee by Chris Cleave.
    That said, my favorite fiction this year has to go to The City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin, the fantastic conclusion to the epic The Passage Trilogy. The Passage was exceptional in scope and care of character. The second book, The Twelve, lagged a bit, but Cronin nailed the final installment that fulfilled the promise of the first book and brought about a satisfying and exciting final chapter to an exceptional piece of writing that somehow had a popcorn feel to it but was written with the craftsmanship of what might be regarded as more literary works. Just excellent.
    My favorite nonfiction book so far this year is Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere by Poe Ballantine. Simon, if you haven’t read Ballantine, you must! He is extraordinary and I tell anyone who will listen that he very well might be the best writer of the last 50 years. He simply takes ownership of language and words and turns the everyday into beautiful, heartbreaking prose. His collection of work, mostly nonfiction, is exemplary. Truly unmatched.
    Best regards to you and Mildred.

  25. Langers

    Hi Simon,
    Your cat is Mildred.
    Fave fiction I’ve read this year – A Man Called Ove. Amazingly written and the characterization was beautiful – I loved Ove. It also made me cry when I was in commuter hell on a train and I didn’t care because I was so engrossed.
    Non fiction – So You’ve Been Publically Shamed – Jon Ronson. Pretty terrifying insight into the power of social media but absolutely fascinating.
    S

  26. Hi Simon, and Milly the cat. My favourite non-fiction read this year (so far) is A Year of Living Danishly by Helen Russell. Helen’s husband gets a job with…get this…Lego *awesome* so they move to Denmark and live, Danishly, which seems to be a pastry eating, hygge feeling, bloody freezing 9 on Helen’s 1-10 happiness scale. Funny and insightful. My favourite fiction read is Rivers of London by Ben Aaranovich. I know I am very late to the party but better late than never eh? It’s like dalziel and pascoe crossed with a school of witchcraft and wizardry for adults. Bonkers but really really enjoyable. I especially loved learning about London’s famous and forgotten rivers and now have a new series to work my way through. I don’t know if you have read either of these but if you do pick them up I hope you enjoy them. Happy Reading! Tiff.

  27. Hi Simon,

    So the cat…. Mildred, great name! Always so difficult to answer these type of questions but probably for Nf “girls will be girls” by Emer O’Toole and for fiction I loved “Stone Gods” by Jeanette Winterson (think the answer to this question changes daily!). All the books on the shortlist look great, brilliant list!

  28. Charli S

    Hi Simon! I came here from YouTube unaware that you had a lovely blog!
    My favorite fiction book of the year so far has been Homegoing — honestly it was just something I’d never read before, seeing the effects of slavery and oppression through generation after generation… I don’t know it was just one of those books that will stay with me I think.
    As for non-fiction, I read and was shaken by The New Jim Crow last month. Seeing facts and figures and numbers laid bare all together that point to such a horrific reality blew my mind. Like I’m aware that black and Latino men are more likely to be arrested and go to prison for crimes that whites commit at the same rate but I was totally unaware of the way the problem spread all the way up to the Supreme Court with rulings that leave victims of the system without any recourse. The book shook my core and I put off reading it far too long.
    Oh and say hi to Millie- Mellie? I’m not the greatest at telling the difference with the British accent.

  29. Dawn W

    Hi Simon! My favorite fiction book this year so far has been Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye. I liked the way she played with the story of Jane Eyre. Jane Steele was just a wonderful character that I could really get behind. My favorite nonfiction this year so far has been When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalinithi. This is just a beautiful and heartbreaking story of a man’s life as he becomes a doctor that very much cares about his patients. I never got the sense that he treated them as just a body because he treated them as people. Then the story takes on a different sense when he is no longer the doctor but now the patient. I read these early on this year, so there is still some potential for change. And I do believe it’s Milly/Mildred in your video.

  30. Hello Simon I never win stuff like this but either way I’m excited to try. And you may read my comment so yaay lol anyhow your cats name is Mildred or “Milli” I’m sorry of I butchered that I’m not good at spelling. Anywho my favorite books of the year are The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan because I love fantasy and this guy feels like he rivals with Tolkien. Also The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins which I thought had a wonderful suprise ending and was my first thriller ever and lastly was Bird Box by Josh Malerman which scared the pants off of me. So those were the fiction and the last two were recomended to me through Booktube. The only non fiction book I’ve ever read that I can remember is the one I read this year and it was Just Mercy by Brian Stevenson I loved this because it grabbed my attention and didn’t feel dry like I thought non fiction did. It also made me look forward to reading more. Thank you Simon for this giveaway oportunity and your lovely self inspiring me to read more books on Booktube.

  31. Ashleigh

    Hello Simon and Milly! My favourite non-fiction book this year would have to be The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson because it highlighted a part of US history that isn’t widely known or taught, especially here in Australia! Ok, the favourite fiction of the year is really hard to choose… I’ve had quite a few 5 star reviews. I think it might either be for coloured girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf or Homegoing or Rebecca. I can’t decide, they’re all too good!

  32. Hello Simon (and Mildred)! I’ve had an incredible reading year, but if I had to pick, I’d say that my favorite nonfiction book has been The Argonauts by Maggie Nelson (so incredible!) and my favorite fiction book has been…ooh goodness, let’s go with If On A Winter’s Night A Traveler by Italo Calvino.

  33. R Holmes

    Yep, the cat is Mildred. That’s the easiest question to answer. My favorite non-fiction of the year is Deadly a Wandering by Matt Richtel. It will scare the bejeezus out of you about driving with your cell phone. My favorite fiction is We Were Liars by E Lockhart. I don’t read a lot of YA books, but I have not been able to stop thinking about this one. And thanks, for this great giveaway!

  34. DawnMarie Mello

    Hi, Simon –
    My favorite non-fiction book in 2016 is a biography called, ‘Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life by Ruth Franklin and my favorite fiction is ‘The Guineveres’ by Sarah Domet,’ which I think I originally heard about on your channel (so thank you for that!).
    Mildred should do more cameo appearances in your videos – she’s darling!

  35. I actually never read a fiction book. But I am looking forward to find the perfect one to start with! My favorite non fiction book of the year.. I think It’s What She Left Behind by Ellen Marie Wiseman. I really enjoyed it. It was heartbreaking. it has to do with mental illness and asylums and love. It;s a book that emotionally touched me. I liked it. I love how two time periods emerged throughout the story and met in the end. Love it!
    Last but not least, Mildred is you lovely cat’s name!
    Enjoy reading this November :D! Jade xo

  36. Hello to you and Milly from across the pond! I’m a silent youtube subscriber as I have not set up my channel in a way that allows me to comment on videos. Oh well, let me take this opportunity to tell you how much I like and appreciate your channel. Kudos & thank you.
    So far this year my favorite fiction read has been “The Rules of Civility” by Amor Towles. I recommend it to people who like well written historical fiction, ballsy lady characters, and superb dialogue. A total winner.
    Favorite non fiction has been “Not My Father’s Son” by Alan Cumming. It is about growing up in a rural setting with abusive and overbearing parent yet overcoming all the odds. It is both harrowing and up-lifting, which always makes for a good read.
    Be thankful you don’t live in the states than therefore do not have to deal with the daily torture that is our “Shit-show, Dumpster-fire Election 2016”. Less than one week to go. Cannot wait for it to be over. Cheers!

  37. Hi Simon! What a wonderful post! Hope you get your books sorted and get to do all the fun videos you are planning. Let’s see… Mildred, Lab Girl by Hope Jaren and Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell 😉 Those are my fav books so far this year.

    • Oh I almost forget the why…
      Lab girl is a touching memoir of a lovely scientist that hit me so hard. I listened to the audiobook and she made me cry with her story. I studied science so it felt close to home.

      Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell was the best fantasy novel I have read in a long time! The literary references,the world building and the characters were so wonderfully written. It made me laugh and rage with excitement.

  38. tee

    aw thanks for holding a giveaway! as you probably know, i adore you and your youtube (pls forgive me creepily following you around all the internets). my fave fiction book of the year so far is “the days of abandonment” by elena ferrante. i read it because i was trying to find books that told stories similar to what i was going through with my partner of twelve years abandoning me and my kids. it was painfully hard hitting. “what belongs to you” by garth greenwell is a very close second though. it’s really stuck with me even though i read it months ago: oh and “bricks that built the house” by kate tempest was great too. and i haven’t read much non fiction this year but i did really enjoy “in a sunburned country” by bill bryson:

    give milly (your cat guest appearance!) a smooch for me! x

  39. Zoe

    Hi Simon (and Mildred the cat).

    I loved the Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry this year. A fantastically atmospheric period story with contemporary feeling characters. I don’t read a lot on non-fiction, but I did On Writers and Writing by Margaret Atwood, because quite frankly I’d read the woman’s Tesco shopping list if she published it.

  40. I will say The year of MAgical thinking for my non-fiction pick of the year. Joan Didion describes her experience with grief in such a personal warm and heartbreaking way. For fiction I am going to say Purple Hibiscus. It was my first time reading the author and it was such a good introduction to her than I can’t wait to read more. Say hi to Milly (Mildred) – the name of your cat! – Can’t wait to see her in another video.

  41. Cool!! Congratulations! My favorite fiction has probably been 1Q84, my first Murakami. His language is just too beautiful. About my favorite non-fiction, probably Vagina, because it is a very very important book 🙂

  42. Simona

    Hello, Simon!
    First of all – I’m glad you’re back, as the second your cat’s name Mildred – Milly Savidge and third – my favorite non-fiction book of the year (so far, I’m currently reading Rasputin and maybe this will be my favorite) is Secondhand Time: The Last of the Soviets by Svetlana Alexievich. This is a collection of testimonies from people who have experienced and survived communism. Testimonials include the time of Stalin to the collapse of the Soviet Union and the turbulent times that followed. As for fiction books, things are more complicated. I am torn between Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi, Do not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien and The North Water by Ian McGuire. Homegoing and Do Not Say We Have Nothing – both covered important historical period (Homegoing slavery and Do Not Say We Have Nothing communism in China) through generations of families. Both are excellent written, with a complex structure (shifts in time) but it is easy to follow.
    The North Water – language it’s so picturesque and brutal that the final result is simply beautiful, despite the fact that from every page of this book pouring blood and cold…and the end of the book is very unusual – in a good way.
    Be well and thank you for incredible international giveaway!

    Greetings from Slovenia,
    Simona

  43. Simona

    Hello, Simon!
    First of all – I’m glad you’re back, as the second your cat’s name Mildred – Milly Savidge and third – my favorite non-fiction book of the year is (so far, I’m currently reading Rasputin and maybe this will be my favorite) Secondhand Time: The Last of the Soviets by Svetlana Alexievich. This is a collection of testimonies from people who have experienced and survived communism. Testimonials include the time of Stalin to the collapse of the Soviet Union and the turbulent times that followed. As for fiction books, things are more complicated. I am torn between Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi, Do not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien and The North Water by Ian McGuire. Homegoing and Do Not Say We Have Nothing – both covered important historical period (Homegoing slavery and Do Not Say We Have Nothing communism in China) through generations of families. Both are excellent written with a complex structure (shifts in time) but it is easy to follow.
    The North Water – language it’s so picturesque and brutal that the final result is simply beautiful, despite the fact that from every page of this book pouring blood and cold…and the end of the book is very unusual – in a good way.
    Be well and thank you for generous international giveaway.

    Greetings from Slovenia,
    Simona

  44. roșu vertical

    Hi Simon, you generous human being! Hi Millie!

    First of all, what a great idea to ask your readers about their favourite books, I’m learning about lots of new and exciting authors.

    Secondly, it’s damn hard to pick favourites! I enjoyed lots of fiction books this year, like The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy, Ali Smith’s The Accidental, The Vegetarian or The Luminaries, but I think I’ll choose Elena Ferrante’s Those Who Leave And Those Who Stay (My Brilliant Friend #3) if I really must pick one. As for nonfiction, so far my favourite has been M Train by Patti Smith, but I’m doing nonfiction November, so who knows?

  45. My favourite non-fiction book this year so far was “Almost French” by Sarah Turbull, because I could recognise so many things that every emigrant has to deal with no matter which country he/she chooses to live in.
    My favourite fiction was “The Miniaturist”. Do I really have to say why? It’s brilliant and, living in the Netherlands (iPhone’s predictive dictionary tries to make Netherworld of it), I could see the streets and buildings in my head so clearly. I love Jessie Burton’s style and hope to read “The Muse” soon.
    As for the cat, it was lovely Millie of and she showed up twice. ☺️

  46. PatsyPoo

    Hi Simon,
    Just came over from your YouTube channel. I was at Waterstones this morning and actually picked up the Lampedusa one but put it back… *facepalm*
    I’m not a big non fiction fan but I thought the Gary Younge was really good. My best fiction this year is between The Essex Serpent and The Last Days of Night. Oh, or My Name is Leon. Oh never mind. I can’t do this.
    Your cat is Mildred, by the way, and I think that’s a bloody brilliant name actually. So very British! 😁

  47. Hello from Ontario, Canada. While browsing Booktube videos, as has been my norm the past couple of months, I stumbled across your Cuppa and Catch up video, and here I am 3 videos later, procrastinating when I should be writing (Nanowrimo). I only read one Non fiction book this year – I know…horrible of me. I promise I will read more Non Fiction. So that book was “Dreams are Unfinished Thoughts” by Brian Paone. My favourite Fiction book so far this year…wow that’s a hard one. I read Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban and Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, aloud to my children (yes I do the different voices it’s quite exciting I have to admit haha). They were both extremely fun to read. I also started the “Song of Ice and Fire” series (A Game of Thrones and Clash of Kings) and LOVED both. I also gave 5 stars to “Dracula” by Bram Stoker, and “Gone Girl”. BUT I think my absolute favourite would be Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Your Kitty Kat’s name is Miley? Not sure how to spell it. (My cat is named Bruce Wayne, and he also chirps when you chat with him) 🙂

  48. Hi Simon (and Millie the cat).
    I’m aware I’m very late to the party, but my favourite non-fiction book of the year so far is H is for Hawk by Helen McDonald. I got it as an e-book and the themes of grief, running to nature and belonging really resonated with me. Her descriptions and use of unusual adjectives made so many lines and images stick in my head.
    My favourite fiction book was The Children’s Book by A. S. Byatt. (Also super late to the party on that one too!) I read it by the pool in Cuba, and the juxtaposition of hot sunshine and relaxing with rum slushies vs the Edwardian English countryside and each child’s search for their identity will make it memorable! It was slow-paced, yet richly textured. It made me laugh, cringe, shout and weep.
    I’m off to order some Books g non-fiction picks from the library so I can mix the prize short-list and non-fiction November together!

  49. Emily R

    Ooh hello, this is exciting!
    My favourite non-fiction book of the year so far – Jeanette Winterson’s Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? It’s beautifully written and really moving. I was fascinated by her unusual upbringing.
    My favourite fiction so far – Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri. It’s the first time I’ve ever been blown away by a short story collection and given it 5 out of 5 stars! What a brilliant writer!

    Finally the name of your beautiful cat is Millie I believe!

  50. Hello!

    My favourite fiction book this year was To the Bright Edge of the World which you recommended back in August I believe and I couldn’t get back to the city fast enough to pick it up (I loved The Snow Child). Why? It has all the little silly ingredients I wanted from a protagonist to completely fall in love with her character; photography, adventure, ornithology, and a focus on hummingbird nests (seriously, I’ve been after this shot for years)…it was all very uncanny. I feel fairly sure my favourite non fiction book is about to be “A Thousand Naked Strangers.” I work in health care and am so glad to finally read an account from a paramedic! Doctors and nurses seem to be reasonably well covered out there but medics? Time to shed some light on the realities of that career! As for the cat, it’s Milly (Mildred) which is lovely.

  51. Barb Carr

    Hi Simon! (Chirpy) Millie is the name of your cat.
    My favorite fiction of the year, a Halloween read, was We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson. I loved it, just the right amount of twisted & odd for me.
    Non-fiction favorite was Salt Sugar Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us. I found it fascinating the lenghts the food industry will go to just to sell their products.

  52. Hi Simon. (Chirpy) Millie is the name of your cat.
    My favorite fiction this year, a Halloween read, is We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson. It’s just the right amount of eerie and odd for me.
    Non-fiction favorite would be Salt Sugar Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us by Michael Moss. I found it fascinating the lengths the food industry will go to in order to sell their products.

  53. It’s so hard to pick just ONE! I have quite a few favourites from my fiction reads this year. I have eight in my top reads of 2016 atm, fingers crossed there will be more before the year ends. The one that sticks out the most is All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood. It brought out all sorts of conflicting emotions in me and at times I found myself thinking that it was wrong of me to be enjoying it so much. It’s a controversial storyline and it’s uncomfortable and shocking at times. It was a very powerful and emotional read that took me out of my comfort zone, but it’s because of this that I enjoyed it so much. Not many books can create this kind of reaction and it’s stuck with me more than any other reads this year.

    As for non-fiction, so far I have only read two as I’m saving the others for November. My favourite of the two is Bread or Death: Memories of My Childhood During and After the Holocaust by Milton Mendel Kleinberg. I learned a lot from this one that I didn’t know, things that similar books never touched on. It’s a very personal account and the author drew me into his story rather than just throwing facts down on the page. It was a very humbling, heartbreaking and important story that shouldn’t be forgotten.

    Your cats name is Mildred aka Milly, she reminds me so much of my first cat although Milly looks to be a lot friendlier than Blossom was, she was a bit of a loner. We had to get her put down last year at the ripe old age of 17 but I swear she’s still around as I hear her meow.

  54. Maria D.

    Dear Simon,
    So… my favourite fiction is : The faster I walk the smaller I am, by Kjersti Skomsvold (a deeply sensitive-into the heart and sometimes funny story involving a very lonely woman).
    Now for non fiction I am going to pick The dragons of Eden, by Carl Sagan (a book about human intelligence).It is about scientific facts but written in a simple, comprehensive way and making it possible even for me to read it and afterwards feeling very smart!
    Mildred is -by now- the very famous cat of yours.
    Sending you my love,
    Maria

  55. Hi to you & Milly from me & Rigby (my humongous 17-pound beast)!

    My favorite non-fiction read of the year has been Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates, and my favorite fiction read of the year has probably been Sarah Waters’ The Paying Guests. Although, I have had a good year for non-fiction and a decent year for fiction, so there could be some other contenders for favorites that just aren’t springing to mind.

  56. Justine

    Hi Simon,

    The name of your cat is Mildred (Milly). Cats and books make a great combination!

    The best fiction I read this year was The Gift of Rain by Tan Twan Eng. For non-fiction I’m going to cheat a bit by mentioning Lucia Berlin’s short story collection A Manual for Cleaning Women as it does seem to be based largely on her own life, but East West Streeat by Philippe Sands which I’m currently reading will probably top Lucia Berlin.

  57. mdrog1

    Dear Simon,
    So… my favourite fiction is : The faster I walk the smaller I am by, Kjersti Skomsvold (a deeply sensitive,into the heart and ironically funny story involving a very lonely woman).
    Now for non fiction I am going to pick The dragons of Eden, by Carl Sagan (a book about human intelligence).It is about scientific facts but in a simple, comprehensive way and making it possible even for me to read it and afterwards feeling very smart!
    Mildred is by now the very famous cat of yours.
    Sending you my love,
    Maria

  58. Hello Simon,
    Congrats on hitting 4000 subscribers on YT 🙂 So excited for the #diversathon in January!
    The best books I’ve read this year so far were “Homegoing” by Yaa Gyasi for fiction and “A Vindication of the Rights of Women” by Mary Wollstonecraft for non-fiction. Fingers crossed!
    Say “Hi!” to Millie on my behalf please.
    Cheers from Estonia,
    A.

  59. Sophie

    Hi Simon 🙂 Such a fanatic giveaway! My favourite non fiction of the year so far has been Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates, it was absolutely fantastic! And my favourite fiction was The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton, so I’d love to read The Muse! P.S. Your cats name is Mildred!

  60. Liz

    Hi Simon, your lovely cat is called Millie! One of my favourite fiction books of the year was I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. It was just the ultimate comfort read! I loved the writing style and main character and haven’t read such a warm and comforting book in a long time (apart from Harry Potter re-reads of course).

    My favourite non-fiction was Girls will be Girls by Emer O’Toole- very intelligent but easy to read discussion of gender performance. I liked the mix of more academic information with her own personal anecdotes. Also I was impressed and excited to see the issue of women’s body hair discussed- this seems to be passed over in a lot in discussions about feminism.

    Love your videos and well done on your 4000 subscribers! 🙂

  61. Klaudia

    Hi Simon,
    My favourite non-fiction book of the year is a three-way tie (at the moment) between three memoirs by three very different Australians. (I love reading about real people.)
    The first is The Lucy Family Alphabet by the comedian Judith Lucy which is hilarious and honest but also touching and deeply sad. I listened to the audiobook which she narrates and she has this really dry tone which is part of the reason I can’t listen to her on the bus or I’ll pull faces trying not to laugh.
    The second is Reckoning by Magda Szubanski which you must read. I know you know what it’s about, so let me just say it’s wonderful.
    The third is a debut (!) by a young guy named Oliver Mol called Lion Attack! and it’s about growing up in Australia and Texas, masculinity, and just learning to be a person with anxiety in the modern world. It’s so fantastic. I loved it.
    My favourite fiction book of the year so far has probably been Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil by Melina Marchetta. She’s Australian as well surprise surprise and a favourite author of mine. It’s billed as a kind of crime novel but I think that’s just because a crime occurs and it’s her first ‘adult’ novel after writing young people’s books and fantasy since the 90s. All her books are about family and prejudice and the effect that the past (and previous generations) has on the present and this is really no exception. I loved it. Also I saw her at the writers festival in my city a couple of months ago and it just confirmed my suspicion that she is just a lovely person irl.
    Oh and this is me casually slipping in a comment about your adorable cat Millie because I would love to enter the giveaway. All of those books sound brilliant.
    Your delighted subscriber,
    Klaudia

  62. Hi Simon! Found you through The Readers 🙂

    I haven’t read many books published this year this year (that sounds wrong – oh well). So my picks will be just from the books I’ve read this year. My favourite non-fiction book of the year so far has to be What if? by Randall Munroe. It’s amazing and hilarious, and applying science to hypothetical questions is so fun. I can clearly remember a spice girls reference in a question about falling from a really tall cliff. My favourite fiction book – oh my, that’s really hard. I think I’ll go for The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild. That book was such a romp! The characters were all slightly exaggerated, the author was kind of visible through the plot (I could kind of imagine her sitting there comping up with plotlines), and surprisingly, I loved it! It was a fun book, full of caricatures of people and the art world.

    I am sooo envious of your cat – you lucky man! I can’t have cats where I live 😦 Anyway, your sweet cat is called Millie.

    I love listening to your podcasts when commuting to uni, keep up the good work!

  63. Jamie

    Simon, what a lovely giveaway, thank you! I have loved so many books this year so far, but two that really standout are:
    (fiction) It’s a tie between: Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss and The Wonder by Emma Donoghue: both create completely absorbing worlds and depth of character that had me beyond compelled the whole way through!
    (nonfiction) It’s a tie between: Hamilton the Revolution by Lin Manuel-Miranda and In the Body of the World by Eve Ensler, two books which could not be more different but both embody their creators so authentically that I was in love with both of them (still am!) for months 🙂
    Your sweet cat goes by Millie/Mildred.

    Thanks for the opportunity!
    jamie

  64. Congratulations on over 4k subscribers! And what a wonderful giveaway! I always look forward to your videos because of your extensive library, excellent recommendations, and your humor.

    Favorite fiction book I read this year – The Library at Mount Char. I went into it blind and was immediately caught up in the story and the complex characters and couldn’t put it down. I don’t want to say too much because I don’t want to give anything away to those who haven’t read it yet. But it’s bizarre, disturbing, amazing, and creative. As soon as I finished I wanted to reread it from the beginning.

    Favorite nonfiction book I read this year – This is a bit tougher because I haven’t been reading as much nonfiction this year. If I had to choose from my small pool, I’d go with Garlic and Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise by Ruth Reichl. I always believe that you can’t go wrong with a nonfiction book about food. Ruth writes with such a passion for food and the experience of eating in restaurants (though she does cover both the ups and downs of being a restaurant critic), it was a joy to read (I accidentally wrote “eat” there at first). It also includes recipes of some of the dishes she references.

    And the password is Millie.

  65. My favourite fiction books of the year (so far) are Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas, and The Double Life of Mistress Kit Kavanagh by Marina Fiorato, Me Before You was witty, well written and heart-breaking. A Court of Mist and Fury is the second instalment of a great fantasy series, and The Double Life of Mistress Kit Kavanagh was a phenomenal read, based on the true story of Mother Ross, about a young Irish woman who pretends to be a man and joins the Duke of Marlborough’s regiment to follow her husband after he is taken to be a soldier. The twists, turns and unbelievable kick-assery is amazing!

    2016 hasn’t been a great year for non-fiction for me so far, Hot Feminist by Polly Vernon, Dreams From My Father by Barack Obama, the essays in The Opposite of Loneliness probably top my list this year, but none have overly blown me away completely.

    Puddy-cat’s name is Millie 🙂

    R xx

  66. Karen

    My favorite fiction book this year is Lily and the Octopus, which I LOVE (one of my all-time favorites). I think you would really love it, too, so please consider moving it up your TBR stack. My favorite nonfiction book read this year (though published prior to 2016) is Boys In the Boat. Your cat’s name is Millie, and I really enjoy when your cats make cameos in your videos.

  67. Great giveaway! Favourite fiction of the year – it has to be my year rather than published this year, I hardly read any contemporary fiction although I read all your reviews. Best fiction – I finally finished the ninth book of the Forsyte Chronicles – Over The River by John Galsworthy, who has to be my favourite writer (although Daphne du Maurier is close when she is writing well). Non-fiction favourite – Gut, by Giuila Enders. And hi to Millie the cat!

  68. Fran

    I have all those fiction titles on my “wanted” list so thought I would just try…..someone’s got to win!
    Having watched all your BookTube video’s I am quite used to seeing Mildred/Millie, your cat…and very sweet she looks too.
    Had some good reads this year, and looking back in the log I keep it is quite hard to just pick out two, but I think they should be
    FICTION ; A Song for Issey Bradley”; Carys Bray. Having been given The Museum of You,( and that also was brilliant,) I wanted to read more. The way Carys portrays children is so natural; they are totally real and believable. The pathos in both books had me in tears, but of the two I think A Song was just sooooo good. I like the way she uses her background of having been brought up in religious cult family, it felt real, as how it must have been for her. I loved the realistic agony of both parents, coping with tragedy in two different ways.
    Edmund de Waal’ s The White Road is my non-fiction. I am not that bothered by porcelain, I own a few pieces. But I love the way E de W writes, his style is so unique, and suddenly I do want to know how porcelain came to be made, by who and when. Along with his own story , which intertwines. A book I didn’t want to end.

  69. George Petroff

    Hi Simon, I love Bryson and have read a few of his books. I enjoy his humour. Notes from a Small Island is good, but better is A Walk in the Woods. Best non fiction: ‘H is for Hawk’ by Helen McDonald where I learned a lot about Goshawks and T.H. White, author of the Sword in the Stone. (T.H. White did lots of wrong things in trying to tame his Goshawk and wrote them all down). Best fiction: Suttree by Cormac McCarthy. Love McCarthy and have read most of his novels. Suttree is my favourite as it is his most humorous. Eighteen year old Harrogate is a very funny character who does some unusual things. Other great novel for the year was ‘Amongst Women’ by John McGahern (1990), a beautifully told story about Moran, a widower living on a small farm in Ireland, raising two sons and three daughters.
    Milly (Mildred) is your cats name and we see her in your video on non fiction reads when you are talking about Fingers in the Sparkle Jar.

  70. Kyra

    Love your blog, a new discovery for me – can’t wait to check out more of your videos and reviews! My favourite fiction this year would probably be Homegoing, by Yaa Gyasi and for non fiction I’ll have to go with Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. This is a great giveaway, thanks! Oh and your cat’s name is Millie.

  71. Catherine Hjertholm

    I’m pretty sure your cat’s name is Millie, but couldn’t hear it very clearly in the video, but let’s go with Millie 🙂 Favourite fiction reads of this year: A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara, which I also consider to be one of my favourite books of all time, and The Tidal Zone by Sarah Moss (which I picked up thanks to you and just about every booktuber recommending it). I had to stop at two otherwise I would have listed about seven books or more 🙂 I don’t read a lot of non-fiction, only really at uni, but the one non-fiction book I did enjoy, which sounds grim seeing as the subject matter dealt with in the book is depression, is William Styron’s Darkness Visible x

  72. George Petroff

    Hi Simon, My favourite non fiction is H is for Hawk by Helen MacDonald. Interesting read about Goshawks and the life of T. H. White who wrote The Sword in the Stone and wrote about his poor attempts to tame a Goshawk. Favourite fiction is Amongst Women by John McGahern (1990). Loved the story about a widower and his two sons and three daughters in rural Ireland. Beautifully constructed sentences. I noticed Milly (Mildred), the cat, in the video when you were discussing Fingers in the Sparkle Jar, I think (the black covered book).

  73. Russell Gray

    Hello Simon –

    Hello to Millie – I do love how both of your cats desire screen time! They are two of the highlights of your instagram 🙂
    My favorite fiction of the year is Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi : I know you have it on your shelf – please read it. It is an amazing collecting of linked short stories that follow two African families through time. You will love it promise.

    I know it was not published this year – but the non-fiction that I read that had the most impact on me was “We Should All Be Feminists” by Adichie. It was an impulse buy leaving a bookshop in Los Angeles – and I read it in an hour and talked about it for days. So amazing. From this year I would go with The Argonauts – though I am taking my time with this one – as each page makes me think a little bit more.

    Thank you for your channel.

    Russell

  74. Elaine Pereira

    Thank you, thank you, thank you Simon! What a fantastic giveaway. My favourite non-fiction this year was The Invention of Nature by Andrea Wolf. I love the passion she has for Von Humboldt and how accessible, vivid and still current she makes his life and work.
    My favourite recent fiction read was A Gentleman In Moscow by Amor Towles. Written in beautiful and grand prose the novel is both a wonderous examination of a man forced to re-discover and imagine himself, and a view of a tumultuous period in Russian history. It made me laugh, it made me cry. I loved the journey it took me on.
    Of course that is Millie who made an appearance (once again) in the video!

  75. Teresa

    My favorite fiction book this year was The Turner House by Angela Flournoy. I really enjoyed the character of Lelah, a gambling addict. I enjoyed witnessing her vulnerability and her struggle. Though she faced a really tough time of things I was rooting for her and caring for her so much. My favorite nonfiction was In Other Words by Jhumpa Lahiri. I must confess it was the only nonfiction that I read this year. I loved this because it’s such a strange and unique journey that Jhumpa undertook in learning Italian late in her life. I was fascinated by her dedication to it and also the way she came to understand her own strange passion for the Italian language. Your cat’s name is Millie 🙂 Thanks for sponsoring a giveaway. You’re very kind. Best wishes, Teresa

  76. Pia C

    Looks like a fab giveaway!
    Mildred is the namn of your cat.
    Best fiction has to be The Essex serpent by Sarah Perry. Best non-fiction is Identitet by Jonas Stier (swedish), and it’s about how you create your social identity in a modern society.
    Love your blog, vlog and The Readers! 💙💛💙

  77. Pia C

    A really fab giveaway! The lovely cat is called Mildred. Best fiction so far is The Essex serpent by Sarah Perry. Non-fiction is Identitet by Jonas Stier (swedish). It’s about how you create your social identity in modern society.
    Love your blog, vlog and The Readers! Hope you’ll have the energy to keep going! So much inspiration there! 💙💛💙

  78. Sheila Howes

    Your lovely cat is called Mildred, or Millie.
    Favourite non-fiction is Road to Little Dribbling by Bill Bryson.
    Favourite fiction is “Court of Mist and Fury” by Sarah J Maas.

  79. Maria Martellaro

    Well your lovely cat is Mildred. My top nonfiction picks for the year are How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran (I know it’s not new this year, but it’s new to me) and When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi. Fiction-wise, it’s hard. I’ve been going through a lot of my backlist of TBR, so not a lot of brand new reads this year. But I did love Everyone Brave is Forgiven by Chris Cleave, Arcadia by Iain Pears, and The Camomile Lawn by Mary Wesley.

  80. Paula

    Hello, Simon
    I’m a new subscriber in your Booktube channel and I’m loving it. I’d like to enter your giveaway. I’m a cat lover and I have a Molly. Wouldn’t Molly and Milly make a lovely pair?
    My favourite book this year was My Friends Are All Superheroes. Such an imaginative and sweet book. I’m going to read more from Andrew Kaufman for sure.
    In non-fiction I reread my all-time favourite: Memoirs of a Dutiful Daughter by Simone de Beauvoir. It’s so interesting to know the childhood of this great feminist.
    Cheers from Lisbon!

  81. Pingback: Construction Work & Catching Up… | Savidge Reads

  82. Check out some book reviews on my new blog. https://readbetweenthelines.blog

  83. I would be interested in your review of The Road to Little Dribbling by Bill Bryson. I’ve been a fan of him for years, but was rather upset by his negativity and insults in this book. You can read my thoughts on my blog, should you be interested. I look forward to reading more of your book reviews. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

