Construction Work & Catching Up…

Where does the time go? Seriously, how are we almost in December? Well we are and things at Savidge Reads have been looking pretty sparse… on the outside. However, while you have all been thinking ‘what a lazy toe rag, where has all the content gone, has he given up blogging?’ or ‘has he abandoned us in the blogosphere for booktube?’ no. I have actually be secretly squirrelling away both reading and catching up on reviews so that within the next week or two as well as getting lots of lovely new content, which I am scheduling, there will also be a backlog of reviews and the like of books I have read in the last few months that I just haven’t found the time to talk to you all about yet. I have also been working on The Green Carnation Prize up and running again for another year of wonderful LGBT fiction. Oh and I have been sorting out my real life home, not just my internet one, so basically my life has been filled with construction men… I wish.

istock_000015335773large-e1361059367746

As I have you all here I should catch up with the winners of some of the competitions I have had going over the last few weeks. First up were the copies of Daphne Du Maurier’s The Birds and Other Stories and the three lucky randomly drawn winners of these are… LittleHux, A Kiwi in Oxford and Tom Ruffles. If you email me with The Birds in the subject and your address in the email, Virago will wing these to you very soon. Now for the winner of the Books Are My Bag Fiction Shortlist, and the winner is (drum roll please)… Langers. If you email me with your address I will get that hefty set of books out to you.

Whilst I still have you all what is news with you? I myself have been a bit ill again (my operation has been put back to Spring 2017, ugh, major annoyance) and in a bit of a reading slump, but I am getting back there. I have also had the first guests to the new Savidge Reads HQ, I could call it my house but that doesn’t sound so grand, as my mother and co all came to stay which was lovely. I am also very excited as on Friday I am off to Hogwarts in the snow, hoorah. What have you all been upto? And what have you been reading, the good, the bad and the ugly – you might inspire me, which would help with the reading slump and I would be forever grateful!

2 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

2 responses to “Construction Work & Catching Up…

  1. I’ve been in a reading slump too; i steam rolled through October and come November I just juddered to a halt. I’m blaming less sunlight and the dreary weather making the commute to and from home seem like even more of a drag than usual.
    Having said that i finally picked up His Bloody Project tonight and have blasted through 90% of it in two hours so maybe the slump is finally leaving? One can hope.
    I have some random library picks to read before they’re due back next week and then The Mothers is up next in my pile. I’ve high hopes for a cosy reading weekend and next week!

  2. I am working my way through a long-delayed classical book education, using http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2009/jan/23/bestbooks-fiction as inspiration. I have found Nancy Mitford to be utterly adorable (I note that you do too!) and at the moment I’m trying Edith Wharton (another of your favourites!)

    John Galsworthy is also brilliant – I’ve just finished the ninth and last of the Forsyte Chronicles and I plan to read them all again, they’re so wonderful. He doesn’t seem to be on your list – I strongly recommend you try him.

Leave a Reply

