Win the Sunday Times Peter Fraser Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award 2016 Shortlist…

Yes, having asked very nicely and the lovely people behind the Sunday Times Peter Fraser Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award 2016 saying yes, I can kindly give you all the chance to win the whole of the shortlist for this years prize. Oh and it is open internationally. Hoorah. As an inaugural official shadow judge I have read them all and can confirm they are all brilliant, tough decisions ahead.

In case you have missed it here is the shortlist, and links to my reviews…

twitter27

How do you win? Simple, tell me your favourite author under 35 and why you love their work so much in the comments below and one of you, from anywhere in the world, will be picked at random after midnight GMT on Wednesday the 30th of November and announced on the blog when the winner of the actual prize is. Hoorah. Good luck.

47 Comments

Filed under Give Away, Random Savidgeness, Sunday Times Peter Fraser Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award

47 responses to “Win the Sunday Times Peter Fraser Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award 2016 Shortlist…

  1. Pingback: An Account of the Decline of the Great Auk, According to One Who Saw It – Jessie Greengrass | Savidge Reads

  2. Amelia

    Emer O’Toole, because she is brave enough to defies conventions.

  3. novellover97

    my fav author under 35 is jasmine warga – author of My heart and other black holes – purely because she can write an honest description of mental health issues such as depression which doesn’t romanticize it or encourage it but is still wonderful and resonates so deeply with myself.

  4. Abigail Ulman Hot Little Hands. Books that are emotionally above her experience and age about important things that happen in the world that we should all be concerned about.

  5. I don’t know that I have a favorite author currently under 35, but Donna Tartt was only 28 when she completed her first novel. Her third novel, The Goldfinch, won the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for fiction but her first novel is still my favorite. She is a brilliant writer.

  6. Wow. You just made me realize something- i scrolled through the years of reading history on Goodreads just now, and coitus count on one hand the number of authors under 35. This is one diversity stat I’ve not been tracking!! So I’ll cheat and say Zadie Smith, I know she’s over 35 now but she wasn’t when she wrote On Beauty, which I love for being realistic and dream like all at once.

  7. Definitely Eleanor Catton! No one on this earth could write a book as complex, fun and dazzling like the luminaries!

  8. Ooh – difficult one, but if I can flex the rules slightly and say who my favourite author under 35 has been in 2016, then I’d probably go for Jessie Burton. I loved her second book, The Muse, even more than her first, The Miniaturist, which was very good. I love the richness of her writing – always clearly underpinned by extensive research but not bogged down by it. I’ve heard her talk in podcasts and really appreciate her honesty about how difficult she found the instant success which from The Miniaturist. It was the first time I’d truly considered what it must be like to be an new author caught up in the promotional rollercoaster of a global bestseller.

  9. Louise O’Neill. Her books are engaging but also explore important subjects without patronising her primarily YA audience (she is also a passionate and articulate advocate for the issues she feels strongly about).

    First time I have had to google authors’ ages…

  10. Ceri Kay

    Good morning! I have no idea if this writer is definitely under 35, I cannot find her biography. However, I have loved Sara Taylor’s The Lauras this year and will read The Shore as soon as I can. I thought her writing was brilliant and so deftly explored the relationship between Alex and her mum.

  11. Graham Moore definitely – not only did he write the script for the entertaining The Imitation Game but his The Last Days of Night is one of the best Victorian-set novels I’ve read – Eddie Redmayne is going to be in the film adaptation. And Moore still isn’t 35.

  12. Wow, that was really hard, people I thought of as young writers were not so young. I am plumping for Lucy Wood, who’s book ‘Weathering’ I read and loved last year.

  13. Joan Vergnani

    Jessie Burton…..The Miniaturist would be my favorite. Cannot wait to read her newest. I truly did not want the book to end.

  14. Hello Simon!
    I love all of Victoria Schwab’s work, she is 29 years old and has 11 books out so far, most of which have ended up on the NY Times bestseller list. Why I love her writing so much is the character growth that she is able to pack into her lush and fun fantasy stories. Fantasy may not be your genre, however I urge you to check her out! She is a prolific author who writes some of my favorite characters of all time!

    There is another man who is 24 years old, Jack Urwin! He wrote his first non-fiction book about masculinity and the dangers of trying to attain the “macho man” appearance, which I am reading right now and i think is flipping brilliant! You should check out his book and his journalism, both are phenomenal.

    Happy reading Simon!

  15. This was a hard one. I’ve never considered the age range of the authors I read and those that I can find ages for are all over 35. I’ve had a rummage through all my favourite books to try and find an answer for this one. I have lots of wonderful memories of sharing the Eragon books with my children, my children have devoured these books several times over the years. For that reason, I’m going to choose Christopher Paolini, he has entertained, fired the imagination, and created some unforgettable memories for my children and for myself, and those are memories I will always treasure.

  16. Giulia O.

    I’m going to pick the author of one of my favorite books of the year: Rupi Kaur, the 24 y.o. woman who wrote the poetry collection “milk and honey”. I usually don’t read poetry, but this collection spoke to me; her words, even when they were about theme such as violence or abuse, where like a soothing balm. It’s hard to explain why I loved it so much, all I can say is that each poem is a gem for me.

  17. Bet

    Yaa Gyasi! Her book Homegoing is one of the best books I read this year.

  18. Elaine Pereira

    Oh what a fantastic giveaway Simon, thank you!!! I will say my favourite author under 35 is Hannah Kent, the author of Burial Rites. I heard her speak at a festival here in Vancouver last year and she was as brilliant and captivating in person as she is on the page. I am eagerly anticipating her new book, The Good People, due out early 2017.

  19. Isobel

    It would have to be Yaa Gyasi, I read Homegoing a few months ago and it just completely blew my mind and broke my heart. Also loved Benjamin Wood’s The Bellwether Revivals and have been meaning to pick up The Ecliptic, it sounds so intriguing!

  20. Finding an author under 35 that I love was much harder than I anticipated but I must say, I really enjoy Becky Chambers author of A Long Way To a Small, Angry Planet. The book was beautiful, it was warm, it was heartbreaking, it made me laugh, it made me cry… When a book makes you think the characters are people out there living their life and not just fictional characters, to me, it’s the greatest accomplishment. I still think about that book and am planning on continuing with the, very loose, sequel very soon!

  21. Cassy Spratt

    This was a tough one – most of the authors I read are apparently not so young! Taking a look through Goodreads though, I remembered Caitlyn Siehl. Her poetry is beautiful and so relatable for me.

    I would love to snuggle with these 4 books on my couch and dig in!

  22. John Kearney

    Thanks for this awesome giveaway! I think my favourite writer under 35 is Catherynne M Valente – She’s absolutely amazing! The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship is probably a book that I found from watching your channel.. I think…

  23. This sent me on a journey of looking up favourite authors’ birth dates. I apparently read a lot of older authors!
    Anyway, my answer is Kirsty Logan – her novel and short stories inspire me so much, and have a dark, mystical quality to them that I can’t seem to find elsewhere.

  24. Warsan Shire, who wrote Teaching My Mother How to Give Birth, is without a doubt my favorite. No other poet uses language and imagery like she does. No other writer has made me so aware of what it takes to drive a shock to the heart in such a small amount of space. No other poet has made me take a break from their collection to contemplate structure and sound and feeling like she does. She is truly a wonder, and I am in awe of her.

  25. ikebukuro2

    I’ll say Eleanor Catton. I loved her book The Luminaries. I’ve read it in english and in french.

  26. Hi David,

    I love you and channel, I’m very excited for Ecliptic that sounds right up my street so please my I enter your givevaway?

    I don’t know massive number of young writers I loved Divergent series by Veronica Roth. I love anything dystopian and the series was a nice easy read, very fast and thrilling.

    My favourite actual favourite writer though is Dale Peck. he actually wrote Fuc*ing Martin (John and Martin in the us) before he was 35 and it is superb.

    I reread it every few years it’s very twisted interpretation of what love is, could or should be. There is so much that happens in a tiny number of words but it has left the deepest impression on me. I think I read it when I was 18 I’m now in my 30s and its still up at the top of my best reads!

  27. anneinsouthampton

    Another poet for you – Liz Berry. Because I was born and brought up in the same area her collection, Black Country, sounds like the voice of home. She was under 35 when it came out (a couple of years ago) so hoping that counts.

  28. Alissa Nutting because she isn’t afraid to write about controversial topics, and also her writing can be bizarre and beautiful. (:

  29. Cassidy McKenna

    Molly Crabapple, for using words as a weapon.

  30. Stacker

    I think she may have just turned 35, but, Karen Russell is an amazing young author!

  31. I loved Imbolo Mbue’s Behold the Dreamers. I think she showed insight into human longings beyond her years.

    Thanks for the chance to win this great prize!

  32. To choose a favourite author is harder than choosing a favourite food, or colour, or number. I simply cannot choose just one. Stephen King was 26 years old when “Carrie” was published, and I’ve read more books by him than any other author (and have loved almost every book he’s published) so I do believe he is in my top 5 favourite authors. He’s not under 35 anymore, but he’s still the King 😉

  33. My favorite author under 35 (this year) is Rupi Kaur. I have recently read her collection of poems called Milk and Honey and I that book has changed my life a little. For the first time in a long long while I actually felt feelings while reading a book and that’s what makes this book absolutely worth reading (I highly recommend it).
    Thank you for the giveaway 🙂

  34. Ottessa Moshfegh! I read Eileen last week and had a great time. Her writing is vivid and very intense. Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

  35. Victoria

    Lucy Wood is an amazing writer, writing folkloric short stories and also a novel all set in Cornwall. Thanks for the giveaway.

  36. Sarah

    My favourite author under 35 is Hannah Kent. Such beautiful writing, which is so easy to get lost in.

  37. Carter

    Yaa Gyasi–Homegoing told such a beautifully, yet heartbreakingly, interwoven story. The depth of writing was surprising for a debut novel of a young author. Her presence and thoughtfulness in interviews is inspiring. Homegoing has me thinking a lot about issues that are happening in my country (the U.S.). The end was satisfying yet left me wanting more. I can’t wait for her next book!

  38. I have to say Karen Russell is my absolute favorite. Her stories are so beautifully strange and I greatly admire her writing style. Vampires in the Lemon Grove is one of my favorite short story collections of all time. She just turned 35 this year…I think she still counts!

  39. Louise O’Neill – hands down. She’s not afraid to shy away from tough subjects and yet weaves brilliant stories within the themes she tackles. She’s my hero(ine)

  40. Iciar Mosquera

    Joe Dunthorne because he wrote my favourite book of all times, Submarine

  41. Geraldine

    Jessie Burton. Currently reading The Muse and loving it.

  42. Celeste Ng. 35 this year. Everything I Never Told You, published at 33, is such a fabulous study of family bonds and the unspoken pressures of life.

  43. Paula

    Hi!
    My favourite authors are older than 35, and some of them are really much older, but I really like Valeria Luiselli. She’s mexican and she writes in stream of consciousness.

  44. michele

    I also thought Yaa Gyasi’s Homegoing was brilliant.

Leave a Reply

