Merry Christmas and a Happy Boxing Day

Belated Christmas wishes to you. After waiting what seemed like forever for Christmas and the Christmas break to come suddenly it was upon me and then it had gone so I didn’t get a chance to wish you all a very very very Happy Holidays and a…


I had a lovely, lovely Christmas. I hope you lovely lot did too whatever you were doing?

I know Savidge Reads has been a bit ropey with content (and reading which has been awful for me, I never have slumps like this) in the past 6 months so I appreciate all of you who have stuck by and popped by. You wait for 2017 it’s going to be all fresh and new, you’ll see.

In the interim I am celebrating my favourite day of the year today… Boxing Day. A day spent having a big lie in, a lovely leisurely brunch and then long walk in the countryside with my family before heading home with my brother and sister in tow for a week having lots of fun with them while they stay here and my mother has a holiday.


Very lovely times ahead. How were your christmases, or holiday if you don’t celebrate Christmas? I would love to know. I’ll be sharing the (impressive considering people don’t normally by then for me) pile of books I got with you tomorrow, what did you all get?

10 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness, Uncategorized

10 responses to “Merry Christmas and a Happy Boxing Day

  1. sharkell

    Merry Christmas Simon. Like you I love Boxing Day and spent the whole day reading. I finished The Underground Railroad and Grief is the Thing With Feathers. My book gifts included The Boy Behind The Curtain by Tim Winton and The Good People by Hannah Kent.

  2. Kateg

    Happy. Christmas Simon! Lucky for us, Boxing Day was a day off for most of us in the US. I cleaned a little and am now reading The Family Fang by Kevin Wilson. I received 2 books: Nurse, Come You Here by Mary J. MacLeod and First Women: the Grace and Power of America’s Modern First Ladies by Kate Andersen Brower. Not sure which I will read first!

  3. David

    A merry Christmas to you too, Simon. Alas Boxing day meant back to work for me as I have a 3rd Jan deadline, but I did have a nice rest on the 24th and 25th. I got four lovely Library of America editions under the tree from my parents: the collected novels of John Cheever, the complete stories of Raymond Carver, the collected works of Flannery O’Connor and the stories of Eudora Welty 🙂

  4. May I be the first to wish you a bing-bang awesome new year in your new home! I received the Optician of Lampedusa by Emma Jane Kirby, a novella based on a true story. Hmm, maybe I heard about it here???

  5. Ann

    Merry Christmas Simon. Loved the photo of two cats in the box- so darling. Spent my holiday cooking and baking & sneaking in a page or two of reading. The book I am currently reading is ,Redbreast by Jo Nesbo.

  6. Bet

    Happy Boxing Day, dear Simon! I didn’t receive any books, except one on mixing cocktails (to go with my shaker and jigger) but my father-in-law gave me a large cash gift, which he knows I will spend on books. So far I have ordered A Whole Life by Robert Seethaler; The Penguin Book of British Short Stories Vol.2; and The Next American Revolution: Sustainable Activism for the 21st Century (even more necessary after the awful US election) by Grace Lee Boggs. I’m enjoying Heading for the Hills by Horatio Clare just now…

  7. Karen B

    Merry Christmas and Happy Boxing Day! We don’t celebrate Boxing Day in the States, but I did have the day off. Just been relaxing all day. My family doesn’t exchange gifts, but I received some gift cards from a few coworkers. I’m in a bit of a reading slump, so I have no idea what I want to read next…

  8. Gina Thomas

    Merry Christmas Simon! I too love Boxing Day, despite being an American, because I love watching English Premier League all day … but, alas, I missed it this year because I had to work. All is not lost though, Liverpool plays tomorrow and I’m off. My son gave me my two book gifts this year … Paper Girls and One Hundred Nights of Hero. May 2017 be a wonderful bookish year for us all!! 🙂

  9. Merry Christmas Simon.I’m looking forward to reading your blog in 2017, however intermittent it is!

  10. Sarah

    I got four books for Christmas – ‘The Loney’, ‘Inside Alcatraz’, ‘The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend’, and ‘The Butcher’s Hook’, which I requested after seeing it on Booktube. Not very festive but I’ve already finished it – it took me a a few pages to get used to the narrator’s voice, but by the end I was totally with her!

Leave a Reply

