Manchester

Many of you who’ve been visitors here a while will know that I moved to Manchester at the end of 2010 during a very turbulent time in my life. I was welcomed, distracted, rebuilt and made incredible friendships, some will be life long. So the news last night devastated me for the city, the people (especially as it seems to be people so young) and there loved ones. I just wanted to leave this poem by Adam O’Riordan here for people to understand the Manchester spirit and why I love it and it’s people so.

6 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

6 responses to “Manchester

  1. Yes, it was a shock to me. It’s my adopted city, it feels v personal. I don’t expect it to divide Mancunians though, much more likely to bring the place closer together.

  2. dspiccolina

    There are not enough words to describe the horror and sadness I feel. I can’t sleep and am sat here now looking at my sleeping one year old daughter thinking, “what’s next?” What kind of world is she growing up in? I know there have always been terror incidents but it’s so hard not to fear just now. The people of Manchester who helped those in need are heroes and I am heartened by the fact that if something happened to me there would be kindness found in strangers to protect my daughter in such circumstances. Devastating.

  3. Polly

    This is a beautiful poem x

  4. gail kennon

    thanks for the poem simon…i thought of you right away when i heard the news about manchester, over here in u.s. and i’m glad you’re safe. the news of “open manchester” with people opening their homes to strangers was so powerful.

  5. Juliette

    My heart to yours and to Manchester

  6. Manchester is no stranger to tragedy, from the Peterloo massacre 1819, the aftermath of two world wars and the IRA bombings in the 70s & the 90s have all left a mark on the city.
    Being a Mancunian can be filled with heartache, thats what sets us apart. ……Proud to be a Manc.

Leave a Reply

