Henrietta’s War – Joyce Dennys

Do you ever have the inkling that a book might just be so completely and utterly ‘you’ that you actually put off reading it for quite some time as you are scared of being right? Now I know that sounds a little bit crazy but once you have read that book there are two outcomes. You may either hate it and end up being deflated and forlorn possibly never wanting to open a book again… ever! Or there is the possibility you will love the book so much you wish that you could un-read it and have the pleasure of that first read all over again? Joyce Dennys ‘Henrietta’s War’ is definitely the latter for me, utterly delightful. I think that any book that has the line “Dear Robert, I have a great urge to knit something for you” with in the first chapter (or letter in this case) is going to be a hit with me

Henrietta’s War actually started out as columns in Sketch. Dennys was an artist who has many successful collections though once married and a mother in the late 1920’s her life became a domestic one in the English countryside and so needed something to take her frustrations out on. Out came Henrietta’s wartime letters to her ‘childhood friend’ Robert who is ‘out on the front’ and eventually became published as a collection and a novel in the form of this wonderful book.

Henrietta is a ‘doctors wife’ (which all the local women think is very important in a slightly unconvinced way) to Charles and mother to Bill and Linnet living in Devon. As we meet her World War II is raging though where she lives the only real way that war is effecting them is the rations and ‘people are talking cockney up and down the high street’. Having home help she spends most of her time trying to join in the War Effort, joining local clubs, doing good, gossiping with her friends (wonderful characters like the bossy Lady B and Mrs Savernake and the flirty Faith who ‘The Conductor’ is in love with) sunbathing on her roof, writing letters to Robert and getting a lot of bed rest.

To have visitors during a Day in Bed is a grave error. It means getting out to do your hair, make up your face, and have your bed made. A little talk on the telephone with a sympathetic friend who is really interested in your symptoms is the only social intercourse that should be allowed. A good deal of pleasure can be derived from asking for your fountain-pen and notepaper, and then not write any letters…

For some people the war wasn’t all bombs and terror, for some in the middle of nowhere it must have felt somewhat removed in many ways and Dennys addresses this. She also looks at how these people lived, admittedly in a comical tongue in cheek way, when the greatest crisis they had was not having enough sugar to make marmalade for the villages ‘Marmalade Week’. We see how the villagers coped and in some ways continued as normal, or as normally as they could, having jumble sales to raise money, joining drama clubs and even at one point getting arrested as Henrietta does.

Most war novels focus on the awful things that happened during that time, what Dennys does with these fictional letters is try and see the light in these dark times and to look for a way to entertain people during the difficulties with laughter.

But now such is Hitler’s power, this evil influence has begun to effect even the residents, and it keeps breaking out in the most unlikely quarters. Miss Piper, the girl in the greengrocers, has gone into jodhpurs; Faith, our friend, looks quite superb in a pair of pin stripped flannels; Mrs Savernack, though I can hardly expect you to believe this, saw fit to appear in a pair of khaki shorts (we all consider her excuse she is digging her way to victory a poor one); and I tell you frankly, Robert, only my love for Charles has kept me out of a pair of green corduroy dungarees.

I haven’t smirked, giggled and laughed out loud at a book so much in quite sometime. A perfect and delightful book and if that wasn’t enough there is more… the lovely illustrations that Dennys also put into the letters.  

Images & Words of Dennys

If you love books by Nancy Mitford, or that show WWII from a different view point, or have you laughing out loud on public transport, or like books set in villages that house wonderful quirky characters (or all of these) then this is most definitely a book for you. I was also in many ways reminded of Good Evening, Mrs Craven by Mollie Panter Downes which I loved earlier in the year. I am so pleased that this gem has been brought back by Bloomsbury and into the mainstream for people to enjoy. I can think of three people instantly I will be buying copies for. I am only hoping, with everything crossed, that Bloomsbury decides to release ‘Henrietta Sees It Through’ which would just be wonderful.

28 Comments

Filed under Bloomsbury Group, Bloomsbury Publishing, Books of 2009, Joyce Dennys, Review

28 responses to “Henrietta’s War – Joyce Dennys

  1. Really glad you loved it, Simon. I may be the only person on planet Earth who didn’t particularly enjoy it. While reading, I could see how it was fun but after the first few letters I found that I didn’t care and couldn’t be bothered to finish. I hope I fare better with Miss Hargreaves. 🙂

    • Oh I am suprised that you didnt love it Claire, but then part of us all having different opinions is what makes the book world so exciting!

      Miss Hargreaves sounds wonderful. I am going to give The Bronte’s Went to Woolworths my attention very soon!

  2. I have occasionally read a book and felt it could have come out of my head (and really got pissed thinking that I missed my opportunity to make it big!). I felt that way about Julie & Julia. I cook! I blog! I cuss! I could have done that! I’m glad you have found the familiarity in this one. It is so much fun when that happens.

  3. This is on my Christmas list! It sounds lovely and just what I would enjoy! Great review Simon!

  4. Great review! I love the cover of this book!

  5. I really want to read this book (even more after reading your post. Thanks

  6. Merenia

    Thank you for your review which completely convinces me to buy Henrietta’s War.

    You would enjoy The Village by Marganita Laski, which looks at the social upheavals at the very end of WW2, in a small English village. As an antipodean, somewhat sheltered from class issues, it was an eye opening read, far less cosy than I had expected, but excellent.

  7. Simon – I loved loved loved this book. I fell in love with it on page one (as I did with another Bloomsbury gem The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society) it reminded me in so many ways of Diary of a Provincial Lady in its understated with and humour. I tracked down a copy of the out of print second volume which I think is just as marvellous. I gather Bloomsbury are considering reprinting this but very much depends on how H’s war fares so lovely that the word is being spread.

    Do you have all the Bloomsbury prints? I am thrilled to bits that my byline is on hte back of Love’s Shadow and go round showing it to everyone who is interested – and many who are not but there is no escape!

    • Oh Elaine I also love, love, loved The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, in fact it was one of my favourite books of last year. Now I haven’t read Diary of a Provincial Lady that is one to look up right now!

      I don’t have the lastest two (though I do so want them) but how fabulous to have a byline. I must email Bloomsbury and say that they should publish the sequel to HW asap!

  8. Glad you enjoyed it, Simon! I won’t link to it but I wrote my review of it at the end of July in epistolary style as I felt so inspired by the loveliness of the novel. Must get a crack on those other Bloomsbury Group novels that I have (read the first set but already own the second and pre-ordered the third) and Elaine reminds me that Diary of a Provincial Lady is another book that I must read soon.

  9. Such a wonderful book, isn’t it? And comparisons to Provincial Lady are apt, another book you really must read, as you’ll love it.

    I spotted two more Dennys books in London today, quite pricey but worth it – have started Economy Must Be Our Watchword, which has more of Dennys’ lovely illustrations, and is so funny… though the lead character is very unlike Henrietta. Completely selfish and self-delusional, but makes for a very funny book.

  10. Pingback: Notwithstanding – Louis De Bernieres « Savidge Reads

  11. Pingback: The Bloomsbury Group for Your Book Group? « Savidge Reads

  12. Pingback: Books of 2009 « Savidge Reads

  13. Pingback: A Kid For Two Farthings – Wolf Mankowitz « Savidge Reads

  14. Pingback: Henrietta’s War by Joyce Dennys « Book Snob

  15. Pingback: Mr Rosenblum’s List – Natasha Solomons « Savidge Reads

  16. Pingback: Queen Lucia – E.F. Benson « Savidge Reads

  17. Pingback: Bloomin’ Lovely Lot of Loot « Savidge Reads

  18. Pingback: Henrietta Sees It Through – Joyce Dennys « Savidge Reads

Leave a comment