Radio Silence/Radio Savidge

That blinking thing called work is a pesky so and so isn’t it? Every time I think I am going to get back into the swing of things something like an International Music Festival comes along and reading, let along blogging, goes out of the window. On a serious note – I am actually really, really loving my new job. Second to books in my life is definitely music (family and friends are somewhere along the pecking order) so to work on a new exciting project like this is bloody amazing really. If that wasn’t enough the people are also bloody lovely (it is all bloody lovely really) and they are being really supportive with everything that is going on with Gran, no change there at the moment.

The blog has been suffering a little though I will admit, though I think (blowing my own trumpet maybe, as you may all disagree) that my reviews have become more ‘me’ I think. Still a work in progress as always but I feel much happier putting them out, even if they are taking (and becoming) a bit longer. Let me know if you think otherwise!

Anyway, I realised that whilst my blogging has gone a bit more sporadic there are three other ways you can catch up with me being bookish and those are the podcasts I am on, and this got me thinking about Radio Savidge. You see there are the three podcasts I do (The Readers, The Readers Book Club) and also the podcasts that I am always listening to and so I thought I should share some of them with you so that, should you fancy, you can hear me waffling on about books or listen to a few of the podcasts I have in my ears at the moment.

TheReadersTRSummerSeasoBannerYWTB

So as some of you will know I host two book groups, one which also has a monthly spin off. The first is ‘The Readers’, which has now gone fortnightly, which I co-host with the bloody lovely Gavin of Gav Reads. We subtitled it ‘Book Based Banter’ because generally we waffle on, and off on tangents, about books for roughly 30/40mins per episode. We also have a monthly book club which we have now made seasonal. For the summer selection we have gone for ‘The Case of the Missing Servant’ by Tarquin Hall, which you can hear here and see my review of here, and for July we have ‘Snake Ropes’ by Jess Richards (which we are recording next Wednesday) and ‘The Last Banquet’ by Jonathan Grimwood in August. Each show features Gav and I discussing the book, being joined by the author and sometimes a special guest PLUS asking your questions. So, if you have any for Jess or John let me know.

The final podcast I am involved with is the one I host alone. You Wrote The Book! is a fortnightly ‘in conversation’ show where I (lightly) grill an author. Some people love author interviews, some people loath them, I love them as I find authors brains rather fascinating and I have been very, very lucky as already I have had Evie Wyld, John Boyne, Xiaolu Guo, Alan Bradley, Taiye Selasi, Joanne Harris, Patrick Ness, Damian Barr and Maggie O’Farrell on the show! Eek, squeal. If you fancy having a listen to them you can do here.

Sorry about that slightly shameless plug, I will now redeem myself by sharing three of my favourite bookish podcasts that I listen to every episode without fail and think you should be checking out too. First up is ‘Books on the Nightstand’ which I think I have raved about endlessly already on several occasions. Ann Kingman and Michael Kindness have become firm friends of mine, though we have never met, simply through hearing them and tweeting bookish stuff with them. They both work for random, know their books, love their books and are brimming with recommendations – recently they discussed ‘A Constellation of Vital Phenomenon’ by
Anthony Marra which had completely gone under my radar and was absolutely amazing, A–MAZ–ING! Next up are another duo, who also happen to be boyfriend and girlfriend (does playground giggle behind hand) too, in the form of Rob and Kate who make up ‘Adventures With Words’, this is another weekly podcast and I often sit with a cuppa and listen, occasionally responding to them before realising I am not in the same room as them, oops. Finally, another duo, only this time related as Trevor of Mookse and Gripes blog now does a podcast with his brother discussing NYRB classics, with the occasional extra show thrown in for good measure.

I could of course mention the vodcast of the ABC Book Club, formerly The First Tuesday Book Club with my heroine Marieke Hardy, and also the Radio 2 Arts Show with Claudia Winkleman, who I am currently slightly obsessed by and who I would like to steal many an interview technique off as well as spend many hours with discussing books. They are two further goldmines of audio joy, well one is visual too. Oh, I mentioned them anyway.

So which podcasts do you listen to regularly that I should be adding to my own Savidge Radio Station? Do we listen to any of the same ones?

7 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

7 responses to “Radio Silence/Radio Savidge

  1. I listen to a few of those, plus the Radio 4 and Guardian books podcasts, but I’ve recently discovered the Slate Culture Gabfest, which I think is brilliant. As the name suggests, they discuss all areas of culture, not just books, but they do it with great humour as well as great knowledge. Highly recommend.

  2. Sarah Cubitt

    I also listen to Literary Disco (different to the others, a little crazy!), BBC World Book Club, A Good Read, Guardian (although sometimes give this one a miss depending on the subject).

  3. Chris

    Hi Simon,

    I listen to some of the same podcasts as you do, and will try out some of the others. I would like to recommend some from the CBC I think you would really like: The Next Chapter with Shelagh Rogers, and Writers and Company with Eleanor Wachtel – both are absolute favourites of mine – along with The Readers, of course!

    • I second Chris’s recommendations. I love The Next Chapter and also Writers and Company. I also listen to Books on the Nightstand, The Readers, Guardian Books, and any literature-related portions of Saturday Morning with Kim Hill on Radio New Zealand.

  4. Ruthiella

    Other than the Readers (naturally ) and Books on the Nightstand, I listen to the Guardian and Literary Disco podcasts. I find the Guardian podcast a bit overproduced and slick sometimes, however and I admit…I usually skip the poetry ones)
    Literary Disco is fantastic. I highly recommend it, provided you don’t mind swearing, off-color jokes or smart, well-read people who might rip a favorite book of yours to pieces with their devastating critiques

  5. Along with your podcasts I have a few that I listen to regularly and they are Slates Audio Bookclub, The Granta Podcast, New Yorker OutLoud and locally in Australia the Radio National Books Podcast.

  6. rosario001

    I listen to a lot that have been mentioned already, and I particularly like the book reviews in Saturday Review on Radio 4.

Leave a comment