Getting Behind With It All…

I am currently rather behind with my reviews/book thoughts, it has to be said, yet at the moment the idea of editing (as I write my book thoughts in a weird way, first thoughts dashed out, then thoughts edited after time has passed) my thoughts on the Booker short list books, some of the ‘Reading With Authors’ novels and the like seems a bit dull. Well not dull, because there have been some great books I have read, but I am just not sure I want to do them right now. I will get to them just maybe when my mind is more in the mood. But is that a bad thing?  

In fact it’s not just the reviews I am behind on, there are those other random posts looming in the background. Where is my report on Brussels, on Sue Johnston and the latest Bookmarked, my trip on the book barge, a lovely Daphne inspired walk in Derbyshire? I feel like I have so much to tell you all, and yet with surprise birthdays for Gran’s, radio-active substances being popped in me, my Mum now having a health issue, The Green Carnation Prize, a new podcast, the Manchester Literature Festival (which I need to update you all on as it has been fabulous) I don’t feel I have the time to write, let alone read any books. Oh and there is that thing called writing for work too which I keep forgetting about (apols to all my editors – oops) too.

That all sounded like a moan and it’s not (more a mini-vent), I love being busy, I am finding the literary scene up here fantastic and meeting some wonderful new people and, I think, making some wonderful new friends along the way too. I just occasionally want to hide away for a while curled up with a good book or three. In fact I have three dark books for these dark moods lined up (most inspired by the authors I have seen and met at Manchester Literature Festival actually) at the mo…

  

And there might lie the problem a little. I feel like I have some absolutely corking books ahead of me, but where is the time to hide away and read them? In actual fact, if I am honest, I seem to be more excited about the books ahead of me than the ones I have been reading of late. Is this therefore why going back to books I read a few weeks/months ago and haven’t reported back on is feeling like more of an effort than normal? I also want to share lots of book-ish related things rather than reviews but don’t want you all thinking ‘erm, where are the book reviews?’ Ha, it’s probably rather a daft conundrum, yet it is one I have found myself in. Whoops.

Any thoughts? You are all always so good at getting me out of a spin. I was wondering if it’s a time of year thing, but I love the autumn, it’s my favourite season. Maybe it is just a blogging funk (not naval gazing at all, by the way) I am in. I will snap out of it pronto I promise. Also, should I really try to review every book I read?

19 Comments

Filed under Random Savidgeness

19 responses to “Getting Behind With It All…

  1. I m so far behind its getting surreal my fault I m getting very lazy blogger ,all the best stu

  2. As someone who has just started blogging about reading, and finding that it makes my head hurt, I am IN AWE of the quantity of books you’ve reviewed. Let your brain have a rest, already (I’m not Jewish, a New Yorker or even American, not sure why that already slipped out).
    Why not hide away and read for a bit and then blog about only the book that moves you the most. For what it’s worth I would love to hear about book-ish related things, and about the Manchester Literature Festival too 🙂

    • Yes I have been thinking about the whole ‘do I blog about all the books I have read?’ and have decided I am not going to. I’ve been blogging less sporadically of late and I do actually miss it.

  3. cath

    Simon, why not just let those ‘read reviews’ be and start writing from where you are now? I know I wouldn’t mind you giving yourself some space and bookish related bits are interesting too.

  4. Richard

    Simon …. I agree with Cath ….. Stop worrying …. Start from where you’re at now …. It happens … It’s life .. especially when you’re living it … Enjoy!

  5. Ruthiella

    I too find myself sometimes thinking more about the books I want to read and not actually reading what I have on the nightstand.

    I love reading the book-ish bits on your blog as well as the reviews. But I often wonder myself how you keep it all together with they myriad activities. Take a break! We will be here when you get back.

    • Well i haven’t taken a huge break from blogging but I have chilled out with it a bit. Mind you I’ve been gassing so much about books with Gav for The Readers podcast I think when I sit down to type I am sometimes booked out!

  6. Solid goals with my blog just don’t work for me. The only one I have at the mo is to chill out and try and post at least one fairly decent bit a week…because, well life does get in the way doesn’t it? At one point I was forcing myself to blog so often I could barely find the time to read. Bookish thoughts and musing on other stuff are equally interesting for likeminded people 🙂

    • It’s the chatter part of the blog I like. Which is ironic as I am now catching up with over a months worth of comments and then finally catching up on everyone else’s blog. It’s just a bit time consuming and my reading has slipped a little. I’ve blogged less through the period but I think I might be back.

  7. To answer your last question first – NO! There mere fact you ask us suggests to me that an unswerving desire/need/feeling of obligation to review every book is becoming less fun and more stressful. I don’t read your all your reviews, but almost always I read the “other” posts. You write well and you entertain us, but it seems that’s not quite enough for you at the moment. How about taking a break and don’t worry that we will feel abandoned?

    • I admit that I do sometimes feel like I am obligated to blog, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t I also do miss it when I don’t do it. It’s like a drug and creates a vicious addictive circle. Hahaha.

  8. Simon, salutations from Devon and just make sure you never lose sight of the joy and pleasure of reading in all this. Once it becomes a stress and pressure to write about everything you read to keep a blog fed with posts it becomes a chore. I read quite a lot that doesn’t get onto the blog, sometimes I just love to read in that less attentive way that you perhaps can’t do if you are writing about a book. And enjoy all the bookish meetings and events too, they feed your inspiration and keep it all vibrant and fresh. Hope Family Savidge are kicking all the health issues safely into touch x

    • Aww thanks Lynne. I have had a mini break and I think I am back. It’s never a burden the blogging just sometimes a ‘where can I find the time’ kind of thing. I’m sure you’ve had this.

      I am wondering about my direction at the mo though. I feel have lost it a little. Hmmm.

  9. I think you should only review what you want to, I like the look of the books that you have lined up for the Autumn, perfect for this time of year!

  10. Pingback: Sssshhhhh… I’m Reading |

Leave a comment