Some Very Exciting News…

So finally after what has felt like forever, I can spill the beans on something that I have been beavering away on in the background, which has now come to fruition and I can talk about. I am working with the lovely, lovely folks at Orion for a new and very exciting project, called Hometown Tales, which I will be Editorial Consultant on. Below is a little bit more (the official word, rather than my excited ramblings that you can see here) about the project that will be part of Weidenfeld & Nicolson

“Hometown Tales is the first initiative of its kind to focus on geographical diversity, with a guarantee of publication for the chosen authors. The series aims to open up the publishing industry by offering deals to authors from regions that are under-represented in the UK book market, and to authors who wouldn’t necessarily be found through conventional channels. By pairing recognised names with unpublished talent, the series will provide a platform for new writers, helping them to launch the first step of their careers, edited and mentored by editors at W&N. 

Hometown Tales

Working with key industry figure Simon Savidge, W&N is calling for submissions based on the idea of ‘hometown’. Writers who have not published a full-length work are invited to submit a piece of fiction or non-fiction, of approximately 15,000 words, about a place where they were born or where they have lived. It can be a village, a town, a city or a region. For more information on how to submit visit the website here. The deadline for submissions is 31 January 2017″

How exciting is that? For those of you who have followed this blog for some time, you will know the passion that I have for diverse narrative and the power I believe that books have to place you into the lives of others from a world of different backgrounds, so to get to do this with a project like Hometown Tales with a major publisher behind it is quite incredible. I haven’t been this delighted, bookish project wise, since I joined the judging panel on Fiction Uncovered last year. I cannot wait to start collaborating with all sorts of authors, from household names to people putting pen to paper for the first time. Seriously, I am on cloud nine.

The first titles will appear in paperback and ebook in 2017, with the launch list to be confirmed later this year. W&N will work closely with organisations such as the the Reading Agency, New Writing North and Literature Works and many more; along with libraries, literary festivals and local writing groups to encourage the widest possible outreach and pool of talent. I feel like I am going to be on the bookish version of the X Factor panel as I join forces with the wonderful Katie Espiner (who made me read The Trouble With Goats and Sheep, which she bought when she was at Harper Collins, by putting it in my hands with a slight sense of threat and menace if I didn’t read it) along with the lovely Sophie Buchan, Jennifer Kerslake and Ian Wong… Or The Hometown Tales Squad as I affectionately think of them.

If you are worried that this means the end of the blog or the podcast or anything, fret not. I will still be reading books from all over the place, from all the publishers and carrying on as normal. Well maybe at a slightly reduced service, which I know it has been of late but with festivals, moving, pending operations, a holiday looming and this all happening you may be able to understand why it has been quieter of late. Thinking about it though, maybe I can blog about this adventure along the way. Would you find that interesting?

So that is my exciting news finally out of the bag. For more information on how to submit visit the website here with lots of lovely quotes and more information. What do you think about the initiative? Any authors, or people you know who can tell a bloody good yarn, that you think we should be looking in the direction of?

17 Comments

Filed under Hometown Tales, Random Savidgeness

17 responses to “Some Very Exciting News…

  1. sharkell

    Yes please to blogging about your experiences…

  2. Well done Simon – sounds great!

  3. Congratulations! It sounds great.

  4. I like the sound of this 🙂

    “maybe I can blog about this adventure along the way. Would you find that interesting?”

    Yes!

  5. This sounds amazing! I would love to submit something for this.

  6. Congratulations 🙂 Exciting news !

  7. Ann

    Congratulations from the U.S.A.

  8. Lynda

    Hi Simon, I follow your blog and all your podcasts, which I love. It’s fantastic to see you recognised by the Industry in this way. You do so much to make reading accessible, congratulations on this opportunity, greatly deserved!

  9. Karen B

    This is wonderful news! Congratulations! And, yes, I would love for you to blog along the way. Good luck!

  10. What a fabulous thing! Blogging about it along the way would be most welcome.

  11. Well done Simon, this is well deserved. So exciting and I cant wait to hear more. Erm does this mean no more bookshelves blogs though? Bad timing if so. I’ve just taken pics and finally done the Q and A! Have a lovely holiday.

  12. This sounds wonderful! So pleased you’ll be a part of it.

  13. Simon, I can’t even tell you how excited I am about this! So excited I had to write here because there’s no way I could Twitter post in so few words.
    A live in Atlanta, GA, USA, but I love visiting England. Sure, London is nice and I’ve been there several times, but my true love is rural England. I visit, find books in the charity shops, read them and then visit where I’ve read about or where the author is from. Is there another American who has seen Ewelme, Eyam, The Dark and White peaks, Lostwithial, Waterways of East Anglia, Shrewsbury – I could go on forever. I read Hunger Trace because you talked about its location and I’ve been to Scarthin Books, sent there a few years ago by a woman in a Bakewell book store.
    When you were talking with Thomas in the podcast about “the London books” I wished you would mention others. Thank you!!
    The U.K. Is a treasure trove of stories.
    ps, Do you know any good ones set on the Isle of Man? We head there next May.
    Keep up the good work, Jill B

  14. Dottiemi

    I’m a fan of independent publishers and would to hear news of Hometown Tales along the way. Good luck and enjoy!

  15. “Key industry figure”! Wowsers.

  16. Pingback: Savidge Reads is 9 Years Old Today… | Savidge Reads

  17. Pingback: Telling Hometown Tales Again… An Update | Savidge Reads

Leave a comment